08
Dec
07

In which everything I own is covered in yarn.

I was bad again on Tuesday. My knitting group meets at a local LYS on Tuesdays and of course since I made a purchase in Portland, I “needed” more yarn yet again. Isn’t this a cute bag? Anyway, I ended up buying all the Berroco Foliage in this color because I’m pretty sure I only have one of them, and what can you make with one? (See below.) I also bought all the Online Montana in this color because it was pretty.

I also joined (months and months ago) the black yarn swap at Swap-bot and this was what I received on Friday:

One ball of Elsebeth Lavold Hempathy in black, one ball of Lion Kitchen Cotton in black (isn’t it weird when we knitters and crocheters can recognize yarn without the label or any indication what it is? Scary.), and one skein of *cashmere* yarn in black! I did great on my package too. I sent my swapee a box of black yarn, some not so nice, some nice, and told her that if she didn’t like the Lion Brand she could consider it “padding” for the nicer yarn!

You may be wondering what I do with all of this never ending stash of mine. Well, I decided to do some stash busting, and do even more knitting of items I skipped while I was a beginning knitter. I had a great role model who moved me from a FC Easy Knitting baby hat directly to a felted Booga bag to socks. I wish she hadn’t moved to Maryland! Anyhow, I took one lone ball of Kureyon, and look what I made:

One cell phone cozy, one camera cozy (which looks very cute on, but I had to take the camera out to shoot this photo – go figure), one iPod cozy sans iPod, and finally one compact cozy I’m working on right now. I am addicted. Next up I’m going for a tampon cozy. I’m always carrying those around and it’d be nice to have them a bit hidden, especially in decadent yarn!

And just in case you think all I’ve been doing is knitting and buying yarn this week, I leave you with our project of the week:

I found it hard to get a good photo, but on Wed. our laundry utility sink (from the late ’40s) started backing up. Thursday the plumber came and after a good hour of trying to unclog it, he determined that there was a root growing through one of our ancient pipes. Friday I sat around at home working and they dug a 8 inch deep trench about 10 feet into our bathroom. They were nice enough to cover the hole with plywood for the weekend. I hope they’re coming back on Monday, and really wonder how things are going to turn out. Will we have a floor next week?

(Stash accounted for: 157 skeins)

2 Responses to “In which everything I own is covered in yarn.”


  1. December 8, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    My goodness, trenches are never a good thing to have in one’s bathroom! Hope that gets resolved soon…

    Lots of fun yarn!

  2. December 11, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    A ROOT growing through it? Good gravy. Yes, you’ll have a floor next week.

    Cute stash busting! Tampon cozy? Well, yes, practical.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

