03
Nov
07

TV ratings, Week 6

I might have just missed them, but it seemed like a lot of shows were on hiatus for the Halloween “break”. Luckily, my favorites were still on!

1) This was a hard decision, but Friday Night Lights is my pick for this week. They spent the first 45 min. getting back to what they had pre-cliffhanger last year, then the last 15 min. blowing that out of the water. Poor Landry. He did get to be the big man on campus, though. And I felt bad for Julie, and Matt of course. What a superb show! (Probably the kiss of death, though, being good.)

2) The Office. Now that they’re back to 1/2 hour shows they’re back to the basics of good, strong, funny shows. I literally laughed out loud many times during this show. I would have loved to see Andy join the Finer Things club, and thought it was hilarious all the distractions they had in the break room. I could have done without Karen being back, though. And her superiority over Michael, Dwight and even Jim.

3) ER. Wow. I was going to give up on this show just a couple of weeks ago, and I’m glad I didn’t. It’s kind of weird that they keep bringing in new characters, but it’s still a very powerful show. Or maybe it was just this one.  I loved how they juxtaposed the one kid dying and Sam not being able to save him with Sam saving another kid and telling her even though she thought she wanted to die that it would get better. I do wonder why everyone seems to have sons, especially the ones that are dying. Not fair! I don’t want to see a kid with a terminal disease or Sam’s kid who is in trouble in some way and see my sons.  I guess they did throw in the girl tonight, but she didn’t seem all that young to me.

4) Tell Me You Love Me. I just read that HBO is giving this show another season. I’m glad, as it’s well done and relatively interesting. I’d like to see what happens with the couples.

5) Little People, Big World. I’ve been enjoying this show since the first season. It was especially good this week noticing that Matt went to high school where I live now! (I don’t know where the former high school is, though, I’ll have to look that up.)

6) Reaper. This was a toss up, as I really liked it for the first half, then got bored near the end. I’m still watching it, but it’s not as good as Brett Harrison’s earlier work as Brad on Grounded for Life.

7) Law and Order: Criminal Intent. This show was pretty boring as well this week. At least Alicia Witt wasn’t on it. I enjoyed seeing Goren and his deduction skills, but the actual storyline left a lot to be desired.
For some reason TiVo didn’t tape House, and I think I have season passes for Cavemen and Carpoolers, so I hope I didn’t miss anything good! Up next … a picture of the front of my “Where’s the Opaque? Sweater”. I’m almost done with that part of this garter stitch loving sweater.

3 Responses to “TV ratings, Week 6”


  1. November 3, 2007 at 5:03 am

    You know, I don’t even watch TV any more, just get stuff on Netflix. I can’t deal with all the commercials because I have so little free time to begin with and it just ticks me off that it’s being taken up by people trying to sell me some product or other.

  2. November 4, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    I completely spaced L&O CI this week. Hopefully I caught it on tape at 11 laswt night.

    House is good, I like the idea of Reaper but I’ve never watched an entire episode.

    I completely forgot FNL Friday. What did I watch? Oh, Sarhara on TNT. Pretty good.

    I’ve been sucked into Dancing with the Stars but Heroes is finally picking up.

  3. November 7, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Hey, re. the Office,I just wanted to add that you TOTALLY called Andy and Angela. The show implied that A&A will be a short-lived union, but still, I was in shock.

    We were pretty bummed over this week’s episode, too. Things with Karen were just *too* harsh.

    Incidentally, I know you’re mostly into CI, but if you’ve happened to catch SVU: WHAT is going on with the writers of that show? It’s just gotten more and more ridiculous, and less and less believable. I’m hoping that they will use their time off during this writers’ guild strike to think long and hard about what makes a television crime drama good, and how they might learn to live up to it again.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

