26
Oct
07

UFO extravaganza

I had been so good! When I finished my Red Scarves I immediately took out my UFOs and started working on them. And most of them are at a stockinette only section and I needed mindless knitting, so it worked out.

First I pulled out my Teen Spirit Sweater, and started knitting away. I took this one to Carmel with me, and got pretty far on it. Then I decided to cast off the front section, and I got really confused as to whether it would work, so I put it aside. That’s why I ran out of knitting on my trip. However, now that I look at the photo, it just might have worked:

It’s a side to side sweater and the top part here is the front. Well, after I took the photo, I literally threw it away. I thought about how I could save the sleeve, but frankly I think the sleeve is too long anyway. It’s made out of Lion Brand Microspun, and I doubt it would wear well anyway. One UFO down.

I haven’t actually done any knitting on this next one lately, but I do still have it, and I mailed my remaining red Palette to Zonda because she saved my other UFO when I ran out of black Cotton Ease. I have been working on the sleeve after getting as far on the body of the sweater as I could without the sleeves. (And now I lost the body, so I couldn’t photograph it with my new snazzy camera!)

Now I don’t know what to do with this sweater. It’s also a side to side sweater, and I started the body but I don’t know that I would have worn this color even if I did finish it – I love the sleeve, though, and I hate to rip it back or throw it out too. I still have 3 skeins of cream Palette that I could work into this remaining yarn, and oh I’m in a quandary as to what to do with this one.

And while I was running out of Cotton Ease I decided to start yet another project! Yes, I’m still in the Sweater-A-Month KAL, I just skipped a few months 😉

I have so many books and magazines and I’m getting kind of tired of creating my own (failed) projects, so I decided to make a “real” project and randomly picked up Sally Melville’s “The Knit Stitch”. Earlier this week I started a version of her “Where’s the Opaque? Sweater” in Cascade 220 Superwash. I’ve got 3 skeins of Superwash and 3 of feltable 220, so I’m planning on using the Superwash on the opaque portion of the sweater and the feltable 220 in the opaque parts. I’ve only got 7 or so inches more of garter stitch before I get to do something more interesting. It is nice doing garter, however, as I was able to knit at the movies this week.

I saw “Death at a Funeral” which was good, but not as good as I expected. I really like Peter Dinklage (he was great in “The Station Agent”), and Matthew Macfadyen was great in “Pride and Prejudice” (not nearly as cute here, though). I was pleasantly surprised to see Rupert Graves, who I remember as the younger brother in “A Room with a View”. The movie was entertaining, but not groundbreaking. Next week it’ll be “Dan, in Real Life”. Got to get that garter done!

Which leads me to my New Year’s resolution, a month or two early.  I resolve to knit at least one item from each of the magazines and books I own, or I will give them away to a good home (or maybe after I knit from them I will too). We have so much stuff, and I hate to hoard books and magazines if I’m never going to use them.  The Knit Stitch is the first victim.

3 Responses to “UFO extravaganza”


  1. October 27, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Whew! I’ve already knit two things from the Knit Stitch, so I guess it can stay. 😉

  2. October 28, 2007 at 10:13 am

    I keep books like the Knit Stitch around for reference, not so much because I like the patterns. I’ve been knitting for a while, but I still can’t graft garter stitch neatly to save my life.

  3. April 26, 2013 at 4:29 pm

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole
    my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive
    a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

