22
Oct
07

TV ratings, Week 4

I’m a bit behind with a swarm of work and a husband holed up where my TiVo is, but I’m finally up to date on TV for *last* week!  I gave up on a couple, and added a couple to my resume.  And I forgot to tape a few too! In preference order:

1) Friday Night Lights.  I love this show and really hope it sticks around. It has gotten a bit soap opera-y this season, but there are still gorgeous guys (and girls) and I still love them all.

2) The Office.  This was bumped down a notch because the one hour shows were too much for me. I could have done without the whole storyline featuring Dwight’s farm tours, but I do still love the show.

3) Cavemen.  Surprise, surprise.  This was my favorite episode.  They pegged me with “So how does it feel hating the Beatles?” “Superior.” (The female caver at a popular frozen yogurt shop decides Nick, the most “Cavemen”-like caveman just likes to hate things to feel superior.)

4) The Big Bang Theory.  I can’t get enough of those Roseanne cameos! I loved Laurie Metcalf in “Making Mr. Right”, too, but she’s great here as Sheldon’s mom who just may get a date with his boss!

5) Law and Order: Criminal Intent.  I love the original couple, Goren and Eames.  It’s interesting too that they used to make him seem just knowledgeable and now they’re making him seem overbearing, unliked and crazy.  I still like the show, though.  And I can’t have enough Jim Gaffigan, who came in on his second Law and Order character, the FDA representative.

6) Life.  I was surprised that this was as “different” as it was.  It reminded me of a mixture of Monk, Raines, and Goren from Law and Order: Criminal Intent, and the storyline was cut in such a way that it’s not just your normal crime drama.

7) Big Shots.  News flash: Big Shots is Dirty Sexy Money is Desperate Housewives.  Over the top characters with a built in  mystery.   I like this the best of the three.  Did you know Dylan McDermott’s stepmother is Eve Ensler of “The Vagina Monologues”?

8) Tell Me You Love Me.  It’s still depressing, but I swear I saw some full on penetration last week.  Are they sure we aren’t watching Spice or the Playboy Channel?  I’m hooked, but I don’t know why.

I gave up on Women’s Murder Club this week (it sucked), and I’m on my way with ER.

I forgot to tape a lot of shows last week, so I’m set for this week. I’m already behind because I spent today catching up!

Oh, and I got a lot of knitting done. I was bad and cast on for Sally Melville’s “Where’s the Opaque? Sweater”, but it’s mindless garter so I can do it and watch TV at the same time.  And I had been doing so well working on my UFOs.  At least I went to JoAnn and Michael’s today and didn’t buy yarn.  I’m going to start my countdown for not having bought yarn since October 1st, but I think it was before that.  Somewhere in September, when I bought Homespun to make my seed stitch scarf.  Those damned JoAnn coupon sales!

3 Responses to “TV ratings, Week 4”


  1. October 23, 2007 at 5:17 am

    No Heroes or Prison Break? *gasp* I’m crushed. Hehehe… Just kiddin’. 🙂 Want to hear something funny … the only show I’ve heard of on your list is Law & Order: Criminal Intent. 🙂

  2. 2 GirlMeetsNeedle
    October 25, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Hey, have you watched any Pushing Daisies? Frickin’ hiliarious!

  3. October 27, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I couldn’t get into the Women’s Murder Club either. I watched Foyle’s War on PBS.

    Friday Night LIghts is pretty good. They’re really soaping up L&OCI which is cracking me up because that’s the one thing VDO was vowing not to do. The soap is where all the action is, wouldn’t an actor realize that?

    Those are the only two on your list that I watch!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

