18
Oct
07

Way too much crafting.

I really need to get my act together and get one of those tickers that says how long it’s been since I last bought yarn. I have been so good lately, and I even went on vacation! I swear when my work eases up (I hope that will be today) I’ll get to the vacation knitting and other photos. I’ve been somewhat prolific in finishing up scarves and working on UFOs when I get a break from the computer.

I honestly can’t remember the last time I bought yarn. I’m sure it was recently, but I don’t know when. I think the last yarn I bought was my Alpaca with a Twist Landscapes, which took forever to ship and ended up being a color I’m not so fond of (very similar to the color discussion I had on vacation when I was buying a black jacket.  The owner suggested one in “rose” to which I answered “It’s kind of rust-y and I don’t really like rust” and she came back with “It’s *rose*!” I still don’t believe her).  I guess this not cheap yarn will probably be destashed in the future.

I ended up finishing 5 scarves for the Red Scarf Project, but I only mailed 3.  I am planning on bringing the other 3 to Full Thread Ahead‘s charity drive, which I believe is ongoing.  I really want to stop by during their Friday knitting since I don’t have a job that requires me to go there at any specific time, but of course I was away last weekend and the kids have the next two Fridays off.

After the scarves, I started in on one of my UFOs.  Actually, I started it 2 weeks ago at my knitting group as I needed a stockinette project to work on.  Then it was one of the two projects I brought with me to Carmel last weekend.   I had planned on bringing more knitting, but then it got a bit overwhelming so I pared it down.  And, you’re not going to believe this, I ran out of knitting! I didn’t even have any knitting for the 2 hour drive home!  I’ll show you why later today.

6 Responses to “Way too much crafting.”


  1. October 19, 2007 at 5:52 am

    *gasp* You ran out of knitting on vacation?! Oh NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  2. October 19, 2007 at 6:18 am

    I haven’t bought yarn in a while too. But I’m sure that would not be the case if I had some money to spare. 🙂 Gotta feed the need *sometimes*…

  3. October 19, 2007 at 11:39 am

    I so want to do the Red Scarf Project but damn it all I can’t seem to get the website for it to read on my browser. I’ve tried and tried and it’s most upsetting! Damn…

    As for the not buying yarn thing…I haven’t bought any in like two weeks (which is so bad because I usually buy some once a week) but I’m about to go on a stash-enhancement trip to Rhinebeck tomorrow where I will buy as much yarn as my budget can afford! 🙂 Which is a lot considering I’ve saved money by not buying any these past two weeks. Hurrah!!

  4. October 19, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    Congratulations from the person who caved and bought a sweater’s worth of burgundy yarn. Mea culpa.

  5. October 19, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    You have been very good! The last time I bought yarn was … today… *ahem*

  6. October 20, 2007 at 8:40 am

    No knitting for the ride home? Noooo!

    Rust is not rose!

    Ah, I bought yarn yesterday and I’m thinking about buying sweater yarn today…..


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

