07
Oct
07

TV Themes

When I get my PhD (when I win the lottery and don’t have to look for a job, of course), I’ve decided that my thesis is going to have to do with the increased connection between music and television and movies.  Or something like that.

I was just listening to one of the Foo Fighters’ CDs while cleaning up after IM’s birthday party (remind me to tell you about the 50 cupcakes I made) and when I heard the song “Next Year” I thought, “Hey, that’s a good song.” and then “Wait a minute, this is a TV theme song!”.  I’m not quite sure what show it’s from (anyone know? I think it is “October Road”) but I have definitely heard it recently, and not on my CD.

It is so interesting how music has changed in its relationship with other media.  Movie themes used to be more instrumental (as far as I remember) and now they break bands by from being on a movie or television soundtrack.  Where would Vonda Shepherd be without “Ally McBeal”?  Playing lounges, I assume.  I’ve found some of my best covers on movie soundtracks.

Obviously I haven’t fleshed out a good thesis topic yet, but I’m getting there.  Maybe when I’ve gone through all the local companies and they don’t hire me because I’m not “technical” enough.  We’ll see.

5 Responses to “TV Themes”


  1. October 7, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I love Vonda!! 🙂 And I might not have heard of the Eels except for Shrek soundtracks and the Music from the OC cds (although I never saw the associated show).

  2. October 7, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Oh, I keep thinking of you while working on the socks I just started – Trekking 167 is SUCH a you color!!

  3. October 8, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Dido w/o Roswell, Jose Feliciano w/o Chico and the Man, John Sebestian for Welcome Back Kotter…….

  4. October 8, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I think that sounds like a great thesis idea!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

