03
Oct
07

Book tags (no I’m not back at work …)

Carrie tagged me for a book meme. Thanks, Carrie! Here goes:

  • 1. Hardcover or paperback, and why? Hardback, or “library binding”. I much prefer to read them that way, because they stay open better at the gym!
  • 2. If I were to own a book shop, I would call it… I don’t think I’d ever own a bookshop. Now a candy store that had books, maybe. I’ve been thinking about this because of the glut of LYS and online yarn stores and owning a yarn store is just not a fantasy for me. Organizing a yarn store, maybe. How about a yarn store librarian? I was thinking if I had to have a store it would be a candy store. I’d get to go to the candy trade show, then! A book store is the worst because people sit around in it and never buy anything.
  • 3. My favorite quote from a book (mention the title) is…“And Jesus began to save.” from “Deliverance” by James Dickey. A second would be Roald Dahl’s description of Veruca Salt as “the girl who got everything she ever wanted”. in “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”.
  • 4. The author (alive or deceased) I would love to have lunch with would be.. Daniel Pinkwater. I love his books and he seems like he would be fun. Plus he loves librarians and lives (still, I think) in Hoboken, NJ!
  • 5. If I was going to a deserted island and could only bring one book, except for the SAS survival guide, it would be…Daniel Pinkwater’s “4 Fantastic Novels.”
  • 6. I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that…would tape the book for me so I could listen to it rather than read it. “Virtual reading” like that old SNL sketch.
  • 7. The smell of an old book reminds me of…Mold.
  • 8. If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title), it would be…Maybe Anne Elliott from Jane Austen’s Persuasion. Not the many years when she didn’t see Frederick, but the book’s time when she came back in contact with him.
  • 9. The most overestimated book of all times is…I’m going to agree with Carrie and say “Anything overhyped.” Or Forrest Gump. I wasn’t interested in the movie but it was so hyped I figured I could read the book and see why it was so popular. It was just horrible! I have no idea why they made a movie out of it.
  • 10. I hate it when a book…gets lost and I owe it back to the library! And that includes books on tape that I didn’t realize I’ve lost one CD and they don’t tell me for months so I have no hope of ever finding it again!
2 Responses to “Book tags (no I’m not back at work …)”


  1. October 3, 2007 at 10:31 am

    I’m with you on the not really wanting to own a bookstore (or a yarn shop). I’d never get to read or knit again.

    I didn’t get the hype for Forrest Gump either.

    Daniel Pinkwater? An author I don’t know? Shocking.

    Thanks for playing!

  2. October 3, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    I had to chuckle about the old book smell. I think the same thing.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

