25
Sep
07

Crocheting away ….

I want to post every day, I swear. And I have tons to show off, but I am so lazy when it comes to taking pictures, downloading, manipulating, and uploading said pictures. I guess I can never become a famous blogger since I’m not a professional photographer and don’t plan to become one.

But I have been crocheting and watching TV almost nonstop. (When I’m not doing errands and getting driven nuts by kids that won’t sleep, that is.)

I finished my 4th Red Scarf! The first I finished awhile ago, then I started and started new scarves. I do have one that I consider a UFO, but the other two I’ve given up on. So today I finished my second to last red scarf for the Red Scarf Project. Here they are in all their glory:

The first one done is the the one on the right. That was made out of handdyed Knit Picks Andean Silk and is so soft!

2nd from the right is my 2nd done that I had to add on 9 inches in the end, and I think it turned out great. Basically it has a 4 1/2 inch border in a different crocheted pattern.

2nd from the left is my 3rd done, and actually my favorite. I started it in Lion Brand Cotton Ease, crocheted 1 inch, then did 3 inches of my mom’s friend’s mystery acrylic (actually it did have bands, but it was a Turkish yarn that I didn’t find on Ravelry, so you know it’s not a very often viewed yarn), then I finished with 1 inch in Cotton Ease. I loved the pattern and how it turned out.

On the far left is my most recent, that I just finished a few minutes ago. I made it out of my never ending stash of Cotton Ease (I’m down to 2 skeins plus leftovers, I think), and I basically crocheted a lengthwise sized chain, single crocheted up one end, then back down the other side of the chain. I kept going in an oval shaped loop until it was 5 inches wide and ended. That was fun to crochet, and I think I could improve upon the design next time.

One more to go! I’m actually halfway done with that one, done in Lion Brand Homespun, just a couple more inches (maybe a row even) and then I’m done! I really never made scarves before this Project but the subject spoke to me, and I love red!

As you know, the TV season is just beginning, and I don’t know how I’m going to get through my list of movies while I’m watching all these new and returning shows! I’m sad to see the summer programs go (especially when my pick of Jon Reep won Last Comic Standing), but am really excited to see The Office, Friday Night Lights and October Road come back. (And Dirt, of course, but I assume that’s starting later in the year.)

I’ve watched a few of the new shows already, and I’m unimpressed so far. I barely made it through Chuck last night, although I will admit the ending made it a bit more interesting to me. And I’m glad that Adam Baldwin from My Bodyguard is back acting. (Where’s my Chris Makepeace, though?)  I also watched The Big Bang Theory with Johnny Galecki who I loved in Roseanne.  I guess I’m just not smart/nerdy enough to be amused by two very smart people talking about things that go over my head (assuming what they’re saying is factually correct, anyway, and not just a script)  and trying to get a blonde girl to be friends/more with them.

I have taped K-ville and haven’t watched it yet, and right now am taping Boston Legal, House and Reaper, so we’ll see.  I’m still hopeful there will be a new great show this year.  Who knows.

3 Responses to “Crocheting away ….”


  1. September 26, 2007 at 4:41 am

    All of your scarves look great!

  2. September 26, 2007 at 8:34 am

    I just have to comment that we are so SO excited about The Office this year. We’re having a party here on Thursday for it, and we’ve invited (of course) all of my friends from my office. Brownies and margaritas.

    I’m worried that it’s going to be kind of a let-down, like the Heroes premiere was. But Jim and Dwight wouldn’t let us down, would they???

  3. September 26, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Wow, you’ve done a lot.

    Adam Baldwin was in Firefly! So he’s not off the small screen for eons. But that said, I’d forgotten he was in Chuck and only realized it when I was flipping and caught the last bit. Not bad.

    Journeyman was…..odd. Wasn’t Heroes kind of dull? I’m not sure why either.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

