18
Sep
07

Break’s (almost*) over!

(*oh yeah, we haven’t seen Jon Reep win on Last Comic Standing yet, have we?!)

(ETA: Did I call it or what?!  Congratulations Jon! You are hilarious!)
I really was just starting to get bored with the 5 minute break between the summer TV season and the fall TV season, and then K-Ville was on last night (?) and I realized the break is already over! Of course I was working and missed taping K-Ville but I’ll check it out next week when I’m better prepared. The second BR’s project is over he’s getting us Series 3 TiVos along with, I think, cable so he can get better HD reception/shows/whatever. You’d think I’d care more about getting HDTV, but frankly I haven’t really noticed much of a difference. Although after having been in graduate school for 5 years I am interested in HDTV in an academic sense – how much the shows will have to change because you can see more of the background and that background will be clearer. Supposedly.

I did enjoy the summer season. The season ending I enjoyed the most was State of Mind, the new Lili Taylor show. It wrapped things up pretty nicely, almost as if they didn’t know if they were coming back next summer (and who knows if they are). I really enjoyed her finding out she was pregnant and that the father was interested in her and the baby.

Now My Boys is a different story. It’s weird enough that they rush through the season with a small number of episodes and sometimes airing them back to back, but the idea that all season P.J. and her friend were aiming towards a trip to Italy with new boyfriends, and then at the last minute they introduce 3 new-ish love interests for P.J. and they don’t even officially tell us who she ends up going to Italy with! My vote is for Thorn – not because I want her to end up with him, but just based on the clues they gave us on the airplane and their past familiarity, it’s pretty obvious that that’s who she ended up with. I like this show, but not anywhere near enough for a cliffhanger.

I also enjoyed this season of The Closer. I’m happy to see Brenda Lee is engaged and finally “growing up” (at mid-40), but can you believe there is an entire Ravelry group dedicated just to this show? I like it, sure, but that much? Not really.

Anywho, I of course am eagerly awaiting the start of my favorite TV shows, that is the shows that are coming back now. I can’t wait for The Office and Friday Night Lights, and I haven’t heard any official start dates for Dirt or October Road. I will probably watch a few of the new shows, but frankly I’m not that excited about any of them. Just give me my old favorites, and I’ll be fine. Well, a few more episodes of The Class wouldn’t hurt.

3 Responses to “Break’s (almost*) over!”


  1. September 19, 2007 at 7:39 am

    I’m excited about the new season. I got the Amazon UnBox downloads of Chuck, The Bionic Woman, Life, and Journeyman. I’ve only watched Chuck and Bionic Woman so far, but both were quite good. I especially think that Chuck could become a cult classic – it’s decent comedy, poking fun at the modern consumer culture, and a decent spy story at the same time.

    Bionic Woman has been touted as a re-imagining of the concept, along the lines of the new Battlestar Galactica, and they’re absolutely right. This is not your mother’s Jaime Sommers. I really liked what I saw, though.

    I have a feeling this is going to be a great year for television.

  2. September 19, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Hey. I’m in that Closer Ravelry group.

    If only K-Ville didn’t sound like Britney Spear’s ex…..it’s totally off my radar.

    Thank heavens next week is the beginning of the fall season. This week has been …….well, how would I know? I can barely focus this week.

  3. September 22, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    I’m looking forward to Heroes, as I just finished watching season 1 on DVD, other than that, I’m not entirely sure what’s out there.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

