24
Aug
07

80s Redux

Recently I’ve been on a movie watching kick.  I am one of the few people who does not (plan to) have a Netflix subscription, but I have DirecTV, TiVo and HBO, so I get tons of movies, and watch what they give me.  Besides the many Lifetime/WE movies I’ve been watching (I swear I only watch them if there is an actor in them that I like. They’re all pretty much the same, although I admit to enjoying “Lucky 7” with Patrick Dempsey just a little bit too much.

There have been a lot of “older”, you know, dinosaur aged movies, from way back in the ’80s (I swear, DL said that once!) on as well that I’ve been enjoying.  I watched “Some Kind of Wonderful” again and it really didn’t hold up as much as I would have liked (who could ever see Lea Thompson as a teenager? She’s looked the same since “Howard the Duck” and never particularly young).  I also watched another Lea Thompson movie recently and I have a funny observation for you:

We have 8 more years until we’re in flying cars.

Remember “Back to the Future”? Well, Marty McFly went back 30 years to 1955, then Doc Brown went forward 30 years to 2015 and remember, “Where we’re going we don’t need roads”! Scarily enough all the actors from that movie look exactly like they did 23 years ago, and we’re 8 years away from those flying cars he spoke about!

Then again, wasn’t “2010” “The Year We Make Contact”?

5 Responses to “80s Redux”


  1. August 24, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    My grad advisor was an alien in a flying car, I swear.

  2. August 25, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Oh oh, we’re falling behind the future! 😉

  3. August 25, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    Speak for yourself! I love Some Kind of Wonderful. Hmm, we might have been watching the same time, I just rewatched it. Admittedlly not all of it….

  4. August 26, 2007 at 8:59 am

    oh, i love ‘lucky seven’ too. I think it’s one of the few of those cheesy lifetime movies I’ll watch over and over.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

