13
Aug
07

Where to begin?

What a week. Somewhat eventful, but no, not really. Last Saturday my eyebrow hurt a bit, but I didn’t think much of it. Then my eye got more and more swollen. On Monday I decided to go to the doctor, but by that point I had decided that it was a spider bite (we have had a lot more spiders this year, but one on my pillow that close to my eye and I wouldn’t notice? Unlikely.) so I told my doctor that and she prescribed antibiotics.

Meanwhile, my eye kept getting more and more swollen, but I was supposed to come back on Thursday for my annual physical (I’ve got to get my entry in to Bezzie for her female exam contest!) so I didn’t get too worried. Thursday my doctor called in sick (!) but I didn’t want to wait until she was back on Monday, so I got an appt. with another doctor. The other doctor wasn’t too worried, but since my eye was still swollen, she recommended I go to the ophthalmologist. I did that, and after a very long appt. with lots of crafting time, it was the ophthalmologist (not the internists!) that decided I had *shingles*! Shingles is an adult version of the chicken pox virus (which, once you’ve had it once lays dormant in your body. Yuck!) and I guess I got a mild version, but it happened to be right around my eye so boy did it hurt! Well, it still hurts, but after 4 days of an anti-viral and 7 days of an anti-biotic I’m feeling a bit better. And oh boy does it itch!

I will say, however, that I have gotten a lot of crafting time in my week of doctor’s appts. I’m slightly stalled on my first Red Scarf 2008 because I had dyed a third skein but it was still too wet to add to the previous two skeins. I had dyed this skein 3 times because it never turned out close enough to the other two (and is not great now, but I’m done dyeing).

Speaking of dyeing, I tried to make my “purple”/light blue skein of Cascade 220 a bit darker, but after three different shades of Kool Ade, it’s barely darker at all.

I’ve mostly been working on my second Red Scarf 2008, crocheted out of Cotton Ease. Unfortunately I’m not a great crocheter, and it’s also become a bit hourglass shaped like my first scarf, because I missed a few stitches then tried to add them back in. I hope I can figure out how to make a rectangle in crochet, because I just may be going over to the dark side and enjoying at least some of the crochet stitches.

7 Responses to “Where to begin?”


  1. August 13, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Ouch!! That sounds miserable. I’m glad you’re feeling better!!

  2. August 13, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    I’m so sorry, elspeth! We’ve got a friend here who’s been having a terrible time with shingles this year. I hope you get over yours fairly quickly!

  3. August 13, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Hope you feel better soon!

  4. August 13, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    I remember how much pain my MIL was in when she got shingles in her eyes. I’m surprised you’re well enough to be computering.
    btw how do you feel about
    mohair?
    chenille?
    blue?
    mauve?

  5. 5 meg
    August 14, 2007 at 11:13 am

    yikes! i had them once on my back around the waistband and a friend who just had them on her forehead. no fun, at all!!

    i hope it’s better and you’re healing up quickly.

  6. August 15, 2007 at 6:53 am

    I haven’t heard of someone getting shingles on the face! Ouch!! I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  7. August 15, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Yowouch. Shingles can be really painful and not just itchy. Poor baby! I hope you don’t get a re-occurrence!

    Hey. YOU are not too old for text-speak and I’m not giving it up, no matter how old I am. So there. YMMV.

    State of Mind! I’d forgotten about that one.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

