06
Aug
07

Copycat

Like Amanda, all I want to do these days is watch TV and crochet! Speaking of Amanda, I won her blog contest, and she sent me some gorgeous Knit Picks yarn! I have no idea why my camera is taking horrible pictures, but the colorway is “Sunset” and it is a brownish color, not obvious in this picture:

I’m so happy “My Boys” is back. I’m a huge, huge Jim Gaffigan fan (I feel like I knew him “back when”, but really it was from his Comedy Central special from 2000) and I really enjoy this show, and am glad he’s back. I was a fan of “Welcome to New York”, his ill-fated sitcom with Sara Gilbert, but alas it was cancelled (aren’t all the good ones cancelled?) so I’m glad My Boys is doing well. This week’s was so funny I literally LOLed – I don’t laugh out loud at many shows.

I also laughed out loud (let’s face it, I’m too old for text-speak) at the new IFC shows “The Business” and “The Minor Accomplishments of Jackie Woodman”. They were so funny, I can’t wait for next weekend for another episode!

I’m also happy to have found Lili Taylor’s new show “State of Mind”. It’s a bit weird, a la “Raines” in that she has characters “talk” to only her, but the show is well written and I like the characters. I also liked the cameo (?) by the guy who plays Herc on “Friday Night Lights”. It will be interesting to see where that character goes.

I’m scaring myself in other ways – I’m actually watching more WE and Lifetime movies and shows. (“Meredith Baxter gets beaten by a rod, in a Lifetime Original, ‘Rod’.” — Jim Gaffigan) I saw a cute movie today, “Lucky 7” with Patrick Dempsey (hey, I loved him pre-Grey’s!) and Kimberly Williams Paisley, and a few others along the way. Wow, I’m really approaching middle age, aren’t I?

And now here I am crocheting, just like my grandmother. I did as much as I could do with my 9 foot long scarf yarn, and the yarn I dyed yesterday isn’t dry yet so I can’t add it until tomorrow. Meanwhile I decided to start another crocheted red scarf, this time using Lion Brand Cotton Ease.

Here’s a bonus, #7 Weird Thing About Me: I hate to do things that are popular, but tell me something is “rare” and I’m all over it. I bought some Cotton Ease last year when it was not being made anymore (for, what, 5 minutes?) just because it was so popular for being rare. I didn’t like it. I never got a gauge I liked that made a tight enough knit fabric.

Well, it turns out it is great for crocheting! I started my scarf today and just love how it looks! (Pictures tomorrow, I promise.) It still splits like it does so I have to look at it, but I’m looking while I crochet anyway. I decided I really like the intricacy of even the easiest of crochet stitches, and I’m starting to like the look of the fabric too. I’m going over to the dark side, I know, but hey, I do love black!

3 Responses to “Copycat”


  1. August 6, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    Hey Elspeth
    That’s not the only Blog contest you’ve won!
    I need you to email me your addy,okay?
    cheers
    Susan

  2. August 7, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Wow, sounds like you are the Lucky Contest Lady this week! And hey, the new Cotton-Ease colors are kind of lame. No black?! Hmph.

  3. August 11, 2007 at 10:52 am

    All I do is catalog and watch cats. Watching TV and crocheting sounds good to me.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

