05
Aug
07

Lazy Sunday

I still haven’t seen The Chroni(what?)cles of Narnia, but I love that reference anyway.

After an incredibly stressful week (I didn’t say much, but our only bathroom sink broke so I had to get a contractor in quickly, plus shuttle two kids from one camp to another, plus D.L. had to have an MRI which was fun, sarcastically), I had a pretty nice weekend. I got knitting and crocheting done, watched some TV, went to the gym, baked and even dyed yarn!

Frarochvia was totally right when she said to just frog my red scarf in progress. I knew I should just frog it, but instead I came up with what I think was a great idea! Instead of frogging directly, I took this opportunity to take the end and practice my crocheting (I learned to crochet first, but haven’t done it in, oh, 25 years …) for a more fun red scarf. And as I need more yarn, it will frog automatically.

I’m not the best crocheter, obviously, but I decided to do one row of single crochet, one row of half double crochet and one row of double crochet. Crochet is fun, but I’m still not convinced that I like the finished product like I like knitted objects, and it’s very similar (at least to me) to picking up millions of stitches. I don’t like picking up stitches that much. And I have at least some times lost stitches. It’s still the thought that counts, right? It’s crocheted with love …

Meanwhile, I’m pretty sure I’m going to run out of yarn before I have more than an end table runner, so I decided to fix up some of the yarn that I dyed previously but didn’t really match this yarn. I did okay with one skein, but another is way too red, so I don’t know how and if I’ll try to keep them together into one scarf.

Just like I’m not the greatest crocheter, I’m not the greatest yarn dyer. The yarn on the left used to be Cascade 220, and now it’s way too pastel for me. It may end up on Good Yarn Karma when it dries … I’m done dyeing with Wilton dyes. I like dark colors, and I just can’t get a good color with Wilton dyes. Now if I were dyeing cake icing (yum!) I’d probably have a better result, but I haven’t done cake decorating in years either.

Now here’s some good dyed yarn:

Yes, that is handdyed (for me!) yarn from Chris, along with her great music mixes and some other goodies.  I’ve been enjoying the music all week, and hope to make some socks soon!  Thanks again, Chris!

Speaking of music, I’ve started a couple of my own Swap-bot music swaps.  Feel free to join!

3 Responses to “Lazy Sunday”


  1. August 6, 2007 at 3:34 am

    I know how you feel about crochet. There are some crocheted items I like, but I often get the feeling that most crochet designers don’t ‘get it’. Too many designs look frumpy or old-fashioned. Of course, the ones that are beautiful are beautiful enough to make me try to pick up crochet.

    That handdyed yarn is gorgeous!

  2. August 6, 2007 at 5:11 am

    You’re very welcome!!! Yeah, it is hard to get good dark colors with Wilton’s. Jeanne got the color on so thick once that the yarn started on fire in the microwave (all the sugar)!

  3. August 6, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Chris’s yarn is pretty! And right up your alley. Practice makes perfect you know,.

    Frogging by osmosis sort of? I just picked up a book of crochet trims – I can’t believe I don’t know how to crochet.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

