24
Jul
07

This is your life.

So in attempting to answer the latest birthday meme (no, I wasn’t tagged, want to make something of it? I have noticed, however, that many people aren’t tagging anyone anymore, so I guess that can make me feel better), I’ve found a few interesting things.

I did what I was supposed to, go to Wikipedia and plug in my birthday, March 26.  At first when I  looked at the actual events, I was underwhelmed.  This was the only remotely interesting event mentioned on March 26th:

1953Jonas Salk announces his polio vaccine.
However, I moved on to births and deaths, and found some interesting tidbits.  I already knew that Leonard Nimoy, Martin Short and I shared a birthday, and that my father in law died on my birthday (way to celebrate!), but I didn’t know that I also shared a birthday with  Nancy Pelosi,  Curtis Sliwa (founder of the Guardian Angels),  Leeza Gibbons, Catherine Keener (great in “The 40 Year Old Virgin”) , T.R. Knight of “Grey’s Anatomy” and Keira Knightley of my 2nd favorite “Pride and Prejudice” movie!

The deaths (along with my father in law) were really interesting too. I was surprised to find out that on my exact day of birth, John Kennedy Toole, author of “A Confederacy of Dunces” (such a good book!) died! (Oops, I probably shouldn’t be giving out my exact age – I’m trying to be more vague as I get older.)  I was also amused to note that not only did Alex Comfort, author of “The Joy of Sex” die on my birthday, but he was born on my son’s birthday! Weird.

So I guess my birthday wasn’t that boring after all.

5 Responses to “This is your life.”


  1. July 25, 2007 at 4:46 am

    Well, plus YOU were born on your birthday, which makes it non-boring. 😉

  2. July 25, 2007 at 8:06 am

    I think you have an eventful birthday!

  3. July 25, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Everyone but me likes Confederacy of Dunces. Isn’t that meme cool? Don’t feel bad about the tagging thing, I know that’s why I don’t want to tag. It’s nice to be tagged, but it sucks to be left out and I’d hate to do that to anyone.

  4. July 25, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Hehe, pretty interesting things! 🙂 Yay to another July Baby! 🙂

  5. July 25, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    I saw that same meme floating around but didn’t participate in it..I just looked my own up and who knew so many events occurred on my bday! Did you know Jonas Salk’s son is a psychiatrist? One of his clients is one of my clients! 😮


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

