20
Jul
07

“Vacation”

Every year we go to NYC to visit my grandfather, and actually last year we drove down to spend a couple of weeks in Maryland with my family (you might remember my MD yarn crawl last year, where I found a really nice store, Eleganza in Frederick). This year DL had another incident so we decided we didn’t want to risk taking him on the plane. I ended up going to NYC with just OR and for the weekend only. Boy was it tiring!

We were only supposed to go for Sunday and fly back on Monday morning, and many NYC yarn stores are not open on Sundays, so I didn’t even get to go to a yarn store! Then when my return flight was screwed up and we showed up at the airport at 7 am on Monday (4 am our time), I didn’t even think about trying to get to Habu or Schoolhouse or Seaport Yarns … d’oh!

Anyway, with just a 4 year old and a television (got to love that DirecTV service on the plane), I was able to get quite a bit of knitting done. With my computer and camera troubles I didn’t even get a photo of this project before I finished it!

the ends aren’t woven in, but you get the picture. I was going for a cover up for the halters and tank tops I was expecting to wear in the NYC heat, but I didn’t get it finished on time and didn’t need it after all. It’s a bit larger than I expected too, but I guess I enjoyed knitting it up so much that I started a new one right away!  I’m counting this as my first (!) entry into sweater-a-month KAL.  I finally finished a sweater-like object!
Pattern: New York City Cape

Yarn: 4 skeins Noro Silk Garden

Needles: size 7 Boye Needlemaster

I used up the rest of my Noro Silk Garden that I had started a Corset top with and frogged and sent to Susan (who made a gorgeous bag with what I sent her). It’s not red, but this is my favorite Silk Garden colorway. It is a gorgeous blend of green and blue, and matched so nicely with my blue Needlemaster tips. I love when knitting matches the needles!

Since we did not end up being on the crack of dawn flight back to SFO, we ended up having another day in NYC. Since OR had been so good on our other outings, we decided to take him somewhere special, and since most of the Brooklyn museums were closed, we ended up at the Prospect Park Zoo. It was a cute little zoo, and we even saw alpacas! You bet I educated OR on where yarn comes from 😉

5 Responses to ““Vacation””


  1. July 20, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    OR looks like he doesn’t entirely trust that alpaca. I can just see the dialog:

    Alpaca: “Hi, I’m Fuzzy, the yarn-giving alpaca.”
    OR: “Are you sure you’re not a llama? I’ve heard they spit something awful!”

  2. July 20, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Not much of a vacation but awesome for the FO!

    OR looks a little leery of the alpaca. Can’t say I blame them. They’re cute, but they’re capricious.

  3. July 20, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    OR looks quite worried about that alpaca’s intentions. Sounds like a very tiring trip… but hey, the cape is lovely!

  4. July 20, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    He’s looking a little wary of the alpaca. 🙂

  5. July 20, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Quite lovely! And omg has it really been a year since your last trip? Time flllllllieeees!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

