09
Jul
07

Ugh.

ETA: Yeah! Casey says that before they officially open, Ravelry will support other photos. Now I need to get a new camera and I’m set!

*******************

(Previous, uneducated post:)
I really, really do try to stay positive. However, for some reason I always end up getting the short end of the stick or having a negative experience with something that everyone else loves and has a positive experience with.

I used to have a Flickr account. I was even “old school” – signed up before Yahoo bought them. I have my own issues with Yahoo, and wasn’t happy when Flickr was bought out, but they let me stay the way I liked it for awhile and I stayed with them. Then one day you had to associate your Flickr account with your Yahoo account and that was when I left. You see, my Yahoo problems all deal with the fact that I woke up one day, 7 years ago, no longer able to access my Yahoo account. And as you might have guessed, every Yahoo account is already taken. I couldn’t even get my first name in 1998, and there is even less available today.

So now I can’t even have my Flickr account. Their loss, I thought, and moved on to Photobucket.

Then comes the Ravelry hype. I admit it is a really great idea, and I was very depressed any time I saw people talking about how great it was, when only a few people were even able to use it. I finally got my invite a week or so ago, and signed up. I didn’t really get into it until today, and was ready to start using it when I discovered the only way you can upload photos to Ravelry is by using Flickr! To quote a character recently near and dear to my heart – “D’oh!”

I guess I’m still upset by the fact that my digital camera broke officially today. I guess I don’t need that Flickr/Ravelry account anyway. And I had some great photo ideas and stuff to photograph too!

3 Responses to “Ugh.”


  1. July 9, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    I know what you mean about Flickr. I did ask if there would be other photo options in the future on Ravelry. They said possibly but it wasn’t on the immediate agenda since Flickr was “free’ and “easy to use”. However I keep my photos elsewhere and I find Flickr sort of a pain, so I just upload my FO pictures and that’s pretty much it! Not gonna photograph my stash or anything 🙂

  2. July 9, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Hey there,

    You’ll be able to upload pictures to Ravelry without Flickr. This feature should be added sometime before we open to the public.

  3. July 9, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    I’m in the exact same boat as Carrie there – I host my own pictures, where I have control of them. I’m not going to do the flickr thing.

    Bummer about your camera!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

