04
Jul
07

Summer TV

Why, when we have new programs and something different to watch, does it seem like summer TV doesn’t get it’s due?  Sure, there aren’t tons of new shows, or any new Dirts or The Offices to watch, but we do have The Closer, My Life on the D List and The 4400 to look forward to!

I like watching those shows, and the house flipping shows on the weekend (new Property Ladders coming July 14th!) all summer, while I’m knitting and waiting for my “real” TV to come back.  We discussed this a bit in grad school, but it’s interesting that it’s not only the government that thinks that all the TV is on the networks and during the traditional Fall-Spring schedule.  Personally, I could never go back to the pre-TiVo days where there was nothing on all summer and you were forced to watch reruns of Gilligan’s Island or other 1960s shows (and this was the 1980s!).

Not that I really need anything too compelling to knit to, but I do enjoy a new show here and there.  Let’s hear it for the summer lineup! Last Comic Standing anyone?

3 Responses to “Summer TV”


  1. July 5, 2007 at 5:02 am

    You know, I’d never thought about this before, but how come all the best TV is on when people have to go to school? Is it because everyone would miss episodes of favorite shows during summer vacation (travel has its downside), or because of Christmas stuff? I wonder…

  2. July 5, 2007 at 9:48 am

    it’s only been in the recent years that summer tv has gotten bigger though. more cable networks are coming up with shows. I’ve been watching ‘army wives’ on lifetime and I really like it. Next weekend they’re premiering two more new shows.

  3. July 5, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Burn Notice is on tonight at 9pm on USA. So far (one episode) it’s pretty good.

    I was VERY disappointed with Dead Zone.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

