03
Jul
07

My summer of Jane Austen

I am always behind the times when it comes to anything related to books. You’d think being a librarian it wouldn’t be the case, but you see I went to library school because I like to organize things, not because I necessarily like to read, and when I read I prefer biographies and non-fiction. Anyway, it took maybe a year of my friend C.Lo telling me “It’s a Harry Potter thing, you wouldn’t understand” before I finally read the Harry Potter books. (Now who is the one who gets to see the new Harry Potter movie on Tuesday? Not me – BR’s company is having a screening so he gets to go and be “at work” at the same time, but I’m not bitter, I swear! 😉 )

Since I’ve known C.Lo I have known her to be a big Jane Austen fan. I don’t know what exactly got me into her works, but it was a combination of Gwyneth Paltrow’s (yuck) “Emma” and Keira Knightley’s “Pride and Prejudice” coming on HBO that convinced me that it was time to actually read the Jane Austen works. So in the past month or so I have “read” (on audiotape or CD) all of her books, watched almost all of the movie versions (I still have the 1940 version of “Pride and Prejudice”, 2 editions of “Sense and Sensibility” and the latest “Mansfield Park” to go) and even borrowed some interesting books on Jane Austen’s life and stories. I’ve really enjoyed them all! (The 1983 “Pride and Prejudice” was a bit, uh, interesting in the casting, though.)

Meanwhile I’ve been working on my wrap for C.Lo (we see her again on Friday, so I hope to finish it by then) and in the picture you’ll see the latest rendition of my Schachenmayr Catania scarf that I’ll finish next.

6 Responses to “My summer of Jane Austen”


  1. July 3, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Wow, you really immerse yourself, don’t you?! 🙂

  2. July 3, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    My hubby saw both the first and third of the new star wars at “work” much to my displeasure! I’ve been meaning to peruse more Jane Austen things.. sounds like fun!

  3. July 4, 2007 at 1:31 am

    Much as I wish it were otherwise [ because I love her writings ] the only thing I have in common with Jane Austen is birthdate.
    Well that’s something at least.

  4. July 4, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Oh, good, someone who else who thought Gwyneth was terrible in Emma!

  5. July 4, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Jane Austen is a wonderful author! I don’t think many of the Hollywood versions of her books are very good. I did like Sense and Sensibility though.

  6. July 5, 2007 at 5:43 am

    Oi, did you watch the six hour Pride and Prejudice too? I tried once but could only get through the first twenty minutes.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

