30
Jun
07

For shame!

My yarn stash is in such a state! I have basically 4 or 5 plastic totes plus a couple of smaller plastic containers full of yarn (my stash documentation got stalled during all my swap issues so I never did get it all that organized), to which I just add a layer of yarn when I get more. I have been very good lately, though, and not bought yarn since April, I don’t think. The last time I bought yarn it was for my SP10 and I bought a skein of Pastaza that was on sale for myself (I can’t say no to my favorite yarn, even though it was a weird color of green). I was just realizing recently that I haven’t bought yarn in awhile, after a few gluttonous times this winter.

I’ve been working on many of my shawl/scarf projects that I didn’t finish in time to give as teacher gifts, and as it was my friend C.Lo’s birthday last week, I had hoped to finish the Pachuco cotton shawl for her by her birthday (have I mentioned she is 6 feet tall, and you’re supposed to make shawls the width of the owner’s height 😉 ?) but I sort of lost it/got distracted by my Schachenmayr Catania scarf until earlier this week. I am on my 4th ball of Pachuco cotton (I think) and I was pretty sure I had had more, as I usually buy yarn in 700 yard increments, but I couldn’t find it.

Today I needed to attack my yarn stash to find any further balls, and I was so disgusted with myself! I have some really nice yarn that is falling out of the skein and not as gorgeous as it was when I bought it and just because I’m not storing it nicely enough. I’ve made some alterations to the storage, but not anywhere near enough. BR keeps suggesting we get California Closets done so I’ll definitely have to move it around to clean out the closet when that happens.

I did find three more balls of Pachuco cotton, so I’m still hard at work on my shawl, and some of my precious yarn is still in good condition, I’m happy to say. I’m embarrassed to say that as a librarian I should be even more ashamed that my “collection” is in such a state.

6 Responses to “For shame!”


  1. June 30, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    That’s just one of those unfortunate things about stash – unless you can keep every skein in its own individual zipper bag, it will rub and come undone no matter what you do.

    I hope you find the yarn you’re looking for – it’s so frustrating when you KNOW you’ve got what you need, but just can’t find it.

    Meanwhile, as if I needed any more fiber – I just found a source for Romney wool fleece and angora bunny fur. Closer than the supermarket, closer than the gas station, closer than the LYS! Heck, it’s even a good long walk if I’m feeling up to it.

    To make matters worse, I was introduced to “Emma” – a lovely white Romney fleece – while I was there. And given a great price if I took the whole thing.

    Quick consult between Gryphon and I, and Emma came home with us.

    Guess I really have to get back to spinning now, huh?

  2. June 30, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Woe! 😦 If it helps, I think my stash is FAR more out of control than yours!

  3. July 1, 2007 at 11:23 am

    I just stuffed all my stash into 3 flat under the bed bins and I was frankly kind of amazed that I *didn’t have enough room for all of it*. I mean, seriously, there is more! It’s not organized either, I started too, but then I just started pitching it in. I was hoping to take it out of the ziplock bags, but from what everyone said on my blog, I just tried to vacuum pack it as much as possible. We’re painting the house next week, so I hope to cull/organize everything a bit more then.

    But you found more of the yarn you needed! Huzzah! That’s pretty good.

  4. July 1, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    At least you know where all your stash is. I have mine “squirreled” away all over the place…and I even have a knitting section in my office for stash, knitting books, and projects! However, my husband doesn’t really need to know how much yarn I have, thus the “hiding” of stash. Ziplock bags and vacuum packing are wonderful. It keeps the skeins from being too abused from moving, searching, and throwing. Good luck on that organization. You have the training and skill…just need the time. Small ones under-foot don’t help much.

  5. July 2, 2007 at 3:55 am

    Hey, my stash looks very similar to yours! It’s only 2 bins, but there’s a good 2 bins’ worth distributed throughout the closet, and I can’t get at my ball winder because it’s trapped by yarn.

    Yarn is happy. It wants to be put away nicely. That’s not the same as “you need less yarn”!

  6. July 10, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    oh, I’m constantly trying to figure out a better way to store my yarn. Presently it’s stored in 2 different locations–and I want to consolidate and I’m freaked out by moths that everything is in airtight plastic so it’s not real pretty 😦


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

