16
Jun
07

Drama

I just barely caught my breath from finishing up my teacher gifts when we had even more drama here at home.

Thursday I went to Tuesday Morning and, passing up a pretty large yarn and bead selection, bought the rest of my teacher gifts. I ended up giving three teachers kerchiefs/scarves along with a decorative notepad. Three others I gave some really cute mugs, tea, and handmade paper cards. I wanted to keep those gifts for myself!  BR was very gracious, saying I should have started earlier (!) so I could have gotten more gifts done. Maybe next year.

I still have my second Ocean Size kerchief to finish (I’m almost done with the yarn I’ve got), and the Pachuco Organic Cotton shawl that I started also as teacher gifts. My friend C.Lo (who, incidentally just got a book published as Elaine Lowe!!) expressed interest in the yarn, as you may remember, and her birthday is coming up this month, so I’ll work on that next.

Speaking of future knitting as well as WIPs, Carrie has found for me an earlier issue of Knitter’s that just might solve my pinwheel sweater problem.  I’ll get to that next and see if the article helps me with my geometry problem.

But you wanted drama, didn’t you?  I didn’t forget.  So after giving away the teacher gifts and spending way too much money at Build a Bear Workshop,  I dropped the kids off at a friends house and got 10 inches of hair cut off.  Or at least it felt like that.  Finally, after some drinks at the park (our playgroup moms have become lushes in our old age), I made it home and found out that I was needed to do some work with my mom’s company.  Here’s where it gets crazy.

Our Internet was broken! (Which I need to do work.)  Some of the sites worked fine, but some looked like ad sites and just wouldn’t work.  I went off to Borders to use their WiFi.  About an hour later I was bored so I decided to come home and see if the Internet magically worked now.

Well, it turns out that pretty much right after I left BR had heard a thump and when he went to investigate he found DL on the floor convulsing in some way.  He called the paramedics and in about 2 minutes had 8 firemen and EMTs in our tiny house trying to see if DL was okay.  He was awake the whole time, but they still said he should go to the emergency room.  Meanwhile I was incommunicado.  I got home about 40 minutes later, and got sent off to the emergency room.  They looked at DL and said he looked okay, but he’s got to see his pediatrician on Monday.  So scary!  We really hope not to have any recurrences.

While we were out BR fixed our Internet – apparently someone hacked into our ISP and pointed many of the sites to their ad pages so they could make money from Google off of all of our eyes.  Luckily I was then able to stay up all night working.

I hope you’re having a much less dramatic weekend!

9 Responses to “Drama”


  1. June 17, 2007 at 6:03 am

    Oh no! I hope DL is ok.

  2. 2 meg
    June 17, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Oh, I do hope DL is okay, too. Take care and I’ll send good vibes your way.

  3. June 17, 2007 at 8:11 am

    My goodness! Makes me think of that Chinese curse – “May you live in interesting times.” You’ve certainly been having way too interesting a weekend!

    Fingers crossed that DL is all right!

  4. June 17, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Now that’s scary! I really hope DL is OK. Kudos to BR for the right reaction, calling 911 right away is exactly what people should do when a kid is having a seizure. Hope it never happens again!

  5. 5 Shannon
    June 18, 2007 at 8:46 am

    *hugggs* I hope DL is okay!

  6. June 18, 2007 at 11:16 am

    I hope you got good news on DL today! Scary stuff.

    Instructions in the mail! Hope it helps.

  7. June 19, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    goodness! I hope DL Is okay..and here’s hoping for an uneventful week for you!

  8. June 23, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Yikes! I hope DL is doing ok! What a weird day for all of you…


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

