13
Jun
07

Scarf style

So, last night in the midst of 6 hours of the 1985 version of Pride and Prejudice (yes, I am obsessed.) I semi-solved the problem with scarf # 3 for my sons’ teachers. I technically have ready to give to them my mini-Ella (I had a great half assed blocking photo yesterday but my memory card got corrupted) and my Ocean Size scarf (which I need to find and hurriedly block), but as I mentioned I spent two nights frogging back the beginning increases of this scarf because they were too tight and curled strangely. I finally got it back most of the way to where it looked nice, and then I ended up stitching together the remaining edges so that it looked much better.

Then I was looking at it in the mirror and thinking how they might actually wear it (assuming it didn’t go straight into the trash or Goodwill) and decided instead of tying it with a very short end, it might work better as a neckwarmer. So I ended up having to pull out my collection of red buttons and mini sewing kit and quickly sewing on two buttons, then crocheting two “buttonholes”. I’m happy to have it be somewhat presentable, but I’m a bit embarrassed to give it away. I do like these teachers after all.

So just in case I am in fact not the slow knitter I believe myself to be, I cast on for one more scarf and if I can possibly finish it tomorrow (yeah, right) I’ll just give her that one instead of the one above.

Incidentally, I am doing pretty well, finally, with my knit from your stash pledge.  I did buy some yarn from Little Knits about a month ago, but I still may send that to my SP10 (I couldn’t decide if I could part with it or not!) but I haven’t even been tempted to go yarn shopping in awhile.  I have also been starting projects right and left with the yarn that I don’t like as much as other yarn so I can stashbust.  The above scarf is made with double stranded Schachenmayr Catania.  I may end up running out of the solid color, but I do have a contrasting variegated I can add in, if it doesn’t look too weird.  I guess I’m just not confident enough to decide whether my hand knits are ugly or not.

3 Responses to “Scarf style”


  1. June 14, 2007 at 7:26 am

    Glad things seem to be going better! You can do this, you’ll finish by tomorrow, just keep knitting!

    I just ordered some laceweight. But other than that, I’m also doing pretty well with the knit from your stash thing. Laceweight and sock yarn don’t count, right?

  2. June 14, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Keep up the knitting! I’m sure the teachers will love the gift.

  3. June 15, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    were you able to finish by today?? i hope so! I agree with Jennifer-I’m sure the teachers will love their gifts–besides they’re from the heart. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

