11
Jun
07

Wasted days and wasted nights.

This is why I never finish anything.

This was supposed to be a triangle, except where I started (top middle/right) ended up being really weird. It looks poncho-like doesn’t it? Except it’s barely large enough for a kerchief. So tonight, after casting off because I was running out of yarn, I decided to start unraveling the beginning edge. I need to frog that middle section that kind of curls up, but it is so slow going and I have very little idea if it will even work. Of course this scarf needs to be ready by Friday, and I hate to frog it totally since I like how the other edges turned out.

Speaking of which:

This was the first scarf I started for my sons’ teachers. I was going to do a pinwheel scarf, but decided it was too hot for summer, plus you might be able to tell that the middle puckers up. So I got this bright idea that I was going to morph this into a sweater back, then make a normal sweater front. Only I was going to use it as a reverse stockinette project, since the puckering happens on the “right” side, and the “wrong” side looks okay. I suck at geometry, have I mentioned this? So I started knitting out to the end of the rectangle. Then I started knitting to the side of the rectangle. I still have a long ways to go to get this rectangle done. Not to mention that to make a sweater I’d have to make yet another side on size 2 needles.

What do you think I should do? Just give up?

P.S. I don’t like either of these yarns enough to really want to frog them. I’m tempted to just throw the bottom red one away entirely.

3 Responses to “Wasted days and wasted nights.”


  1. June 12, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Geometry-challenged people of the world, unite!

    I feel your pain. I guess you’ll just have to fix the top one, but the bottom one could turn interesting if you ended up with a circle with sleeves coming off the sides. It can still be like a little pinwheel/circle shrug, only with something to stick one’s arms in. If it won’t stay on, you could always pick up stitches around the circle and the front of the sleeves so it looks more finished and works better.

    Or you can toss it after marveling at the amazingly idiotic ideas I come up with when someone hands me needles and yarn.

  2. June 13, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    I think the top one can be salvaged too.

    Hmm. The second one you’re doing sounds like a sweater shawl inspired by the Pi Shawl. It added sleeves. Want me to hunt up the Knitter’s mag it was in and see if maybe the design details might help you out?

  3. June 13, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    I’m not at all geometry challenged normally but reading that just made my head ache :]
    Good luck on finishing everything by Friday. As an ex teacher I think anyone who handmakes teacher presents deserves canonisation IMMEDIATELY


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

