28
May
07

We now interrupt your regularly scheduled marathon …

I meant to post yesterday, and the day before, etc., but it’s been too crazy to get pictures and get them posted, so I’m just going to write for now, and add the photos later.

This weekend has been a collection of crime show marathons (mostly Law and Order: Criminal Intent, but some Monk), and shawl/scarf knitting.

I kept screwing up the lace on Ella, for some reason, on my 2nd ball of Classic Elite Pima Alpaca, so I decided to just bind off. It is a good size for a triangular scarf, I think, but I will try to block it (I am not a blocking expert, so we’ll see how it goes) to see if it gets slightly bigger.

I have also been knitting my triangular wrap in Pachuco Organic Cotton. As I mentioned I was going to make 3 wraps (or 9 – yeah right!) for teacher gift. Meanwhile I met my friend in Palo Alto on Friday and she noted that she really liked the colors of the yarn. It is her 31st birthday at the end of June, so the timing would be right for me to give it to her for a birthday present, and I’d have 2 weeks past the end of school to work on it. I read that a good length for shawls is the wearer’s height, which would mean I would have to make it 6 feet long (you do the math!). I wonder if having 4 skeins of Organic Cotton would be enough? That is my current plan, especially as Ella is looking like it will be a triangular scarf, so I’d make 2 more similarly sized items for the other teachers.

Meanwhile, I collected some smaller sized patterns that I could work on for the teachers, including shawl patterns I would make smaller, and dishcloth patterns I would make bigger. This lead me to my disaster of yesterday. After I frogged it I realized it would have made a great blog photo – oops!

I cast on for Dave’s Garterlac dishcloth, and instead of getting 2 triangles and a square, I got a very interesting oddball shape, that was bound to be nowhere in the vicinity of a triangle or a square. I would have loved to be better in geometry … Where I got lost was in the beginning of the pattern where you’re told to “Pick up 8 stitches along the side of the previous row”. I guess I picked up stitches in the wrong place, because it was not turning into anything useful. I’ve never done entrelac or modular knitting before, so I guess I’ll have to find a tutorial before I attempt this pattern again.

Then last night I cast on for another scarf/wrap with the rest of the Classic Elite Pima Alpaca. I knit 4 or 5 rows then screwed up the lace pattern (lace is so frustrating!), and thought I may not end up with enough yarn anyway. So I just frogged it again, and cast on one-third the original stitches. I’m going to make three triangles and then sew them together for a larger wrap. Then I can stop anytime, and can use other yarn if need be. Have I mentioned before why I never finish any project? Sure, I lose the tools I need, like the needles I needed to kitchener the two socks I’ve completed, but I do spend a lot of time trying out new projects that don’t get off the ground. Carrie calls it “extended swatching” and I really like that idea.

So current WIPs include my two wraps/scarves, and the Palette sweater I have sitting in my car for when I run out of yarn in another project. I’d say more, but I’ve got 8 hours of LO:CI to watch!

P.S. Damn, I knew I shouldn’t have read Dave’s blog, now I’ve found another yarn to lust over!

5 Responses to “We now interrupt your regularly scheduled marathon …”


  1. May 28, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    I’m glad you summed up at the end – I was losing track of what was successful and what wasn’t!

  2. May 28, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    okay you said that we were to ‘keep you honest’ about the WIPs when we had that WIP IT OUT photo op … so how many is it now sweety ??? :]
    Slow down girl or you’ll get yourself all overwrought again.

  3. May 28, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    LO: CI! Great show. Good show for knitting too.

  4. 4 Batty
    May 30, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Don’t do lace at night. Or when you’re tired. It never works, particularly when you happen to lose track of how many rows you ripped back. It’s a bad scene.
    I got hooked on the MASH marathon, so I didn’t watch much else over the weekend. I love MASH!

  5. May 31, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    I knit & watched the L&OCI marathon too.

    I had to use single pointed needles for the Garterlac dishcloth the first time, otherwise I kept getting confused as to where to pick up.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

