16
May
07

Re-energized.

I’ve done so well not buying yarn for, I don’t know, a month (? – I did buy myself one skein of Pastaza while I was buying yarn for my SP10 – does that count? If not, it’s been longer since I’ve bought myself yarn), but I am very tempted by this Scout yarn.

I’m not really making socks these days, except for finishing up the 4 pairs I’ve already started (I actually have put them farther back in the line behind my scarf and sweater WIPs actually), but isn’t that a gorgeous colorway? I’d prefer it to be red-based rather than pink-based, but it is right up there with a perfect colorway for me. Don’t worry, I’m just ogling it from afar, and am not really tempted to buy yarn right now. I’ve actually been really good at least starting projects lately with my stash.

As I mentioned I’ve turned the Pinwheel scarf for my kids’ Sensei into a sweater (assuming my geometry actually works), so last night I cast on for yet another project. I decided on Ella, and was going to use the Knit Picks Shine that I started my A Good Bias from IK with, but before I pulled down 3 plastic bins of yarn to find it, I found this Classic Elite Pima Alpaca that I got through De-Stash recently. When I first received it I wasn’t all that excited – I expected it to be more red, and it is actually more of a mauve color. It also looked really beat up so I felt like I couldn’t do much with it but leave it in my stash until I gave up and put it on Good Yarn Karma. Well, I’m glad I picked it up yesterday because even though there may actually be pet hair in it (I’m not sure, but it seems a bit less pristine than I would like), it is a really nice yarn. It’s predominately cotton, but the 20% or so of alpaca gives it a really soft feel and a shiny look. I’m hoping that it will make a much more versatile scarf for my sons’ Sensei.

I’ve never made a wrap before (okay, I have made four scarves in my life, and two ponchos), and this is fun so far, and I’m really enjoying making something from a pattern again. I’ve been winging it for so long that it’s nice to be able to follow a pattern and see where that pattern takes me. The only problem so far is whether I’ll actually have enough yarn to make it a good size. I have three skeins of the Pima Alpaca, which is probably one third or one half of the yardage that was used to make Ella originally, but I’m not planning on making it as big as the picture.

So as I said I’m back into pattern knitting, using up some stash, making a gift (which is always fun), and I’m even getting out my laptop for photos! Don’t you feel special? 😉

P.S. Yes, I did “skein” the yarn before knitting – no tangles! There must be something wrong with me!

7 Responses to “Re-energized.”


  1. May 16, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    It’s good to see you feeling the mojo again! Welcome back! 🙂

  2. May 17, 2007 at 4:20 am

    Wow! Photos and everything. I do feel special. 😀

  3. May 17, 2007 at 6:35 am

    Sounds like you’re doing real well with your goals! That looks like a very pretty color.

  4. May 17, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    glad to hear you’re back on track!

  5. May 18, 2007 at 4:17 am

    Beautiful! And your mojo is back, how fantastic!

  6. May 19, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    Yes! We feel special! Love the red Ella! No tangles..good..do you miss them? 😉

  7. 7 meg
    May 22, 2007 at 11:03 am

    i’ve seen that secret yarn firsthand. it was actually a gift to one of my knitter gals – based on her blog colors. i hope it’s okay i’m saying this here. she’s already received the gift so i’m sure it is. i love love love it and red would be fab, too.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

