15
May
07

Still no pictures

Since I haven’t been working lately (it definitely all comes at the same time and then nothing) I am too lazy to set up my laptop so I can download from my digital camera, so hence no pictures of the many swap packages I’ve received and the knitting I’m still working furiously on.

I am timing out on the two swaps I’m still in, and then I hope to never join another non-Swap-bot swap.  I can’t believe I got yet another “you should know better” email from a swap hostess today.  I don’t get paid enough (ha ha) to feel bad about voluntary things that I’ve attempted to follow through with.

Suffice it to say that I’ve received some amazing swap packages lately.  My Knittyboard Spring Fling pal sent me some amazing stuff from Canada (I am a huge Canada-o-phile so I enjoyed it even more!), and I was introduced to my SP10 pal, Elizabeth, who sent me some gorgeous red yarn! I was also introduced to my PRGE Pal, Carissa, who sent me some red sock yarn and three books that should be very helpful!  You should check out her blog if only to see the tasty pictures of cupcakes that she offers. Delicious!

I have been working somewhat on my most recent sweater (April, I think), but mostly the pinwheel scarf that is slowly but surely being turned into a sweater. I hope.  I really need to employ Grumperina to make one of her fancy charts that show how a scarf is supposed to turn out and what part she is already done with.  However, this project has become essentially freeform knitting since I’m just testing out attempting to change a circle into a rectangle, with moderate success.  I completed the inner pinwheel while I was at the movies this weekend and am now slowly adding and moving stitches to hopefully create a rectangle that would become the back of this sweater to be.

This pinwheel scarf/sweater issue is exactly why I never get anything done when knitting. I f(*&* around knitting for days or weeks on something which doesn’t end up turning out so I have nothing to show for all my hard work.  I hope this isn’t the case this time, but I have my doubts.  Oh why can’t I just jump on whatever the latest pattern bandwagon is and make a sure thing?

Speaking of which, the kids’ school ends on June 15th and I still really want to make something nice for their Sensei (my Japanese exam is next Mokuyoobi  — eek!) I have been thinking about giving in and making her a Clapotis or a mini-Clapotis but first I have to pick some acceptable yarn.  So much gift knitting, so little time.

3 Responses to “Still no pictures”


  1. May 15, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Oh no, not another snarkfest?! 😕

  2. May 17, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Don’t feel bad, Elspeth, I do the same thing. It’s not just the process, which is kind of fun, but there’s no real way to see how something turns out without trying it. I think of it as extended swatching.

  3. May 17, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    oh no-sorry to hear about you getting stuck with another swap where you didn’t receive anything in return. 😛 that’s the reason I only do the small swaps. wow, you already found out who your sp10 was? I wonder when I’ll find out who mine is..good luck with the pinwheel scarf/sweater-I hope something becomes of it and it doesn’t get frogged! I hope you’re able to pick out some nice yarn for something for the sensei too!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

