10
May
07

More honesty.

I am feeling overrun by WIPs. During WIP it Out I even frogged my oldest WIP and sent the remains to Susan, but since that time my group of projects has become huge. I blame, yet can’t entirely blame, the Sweater A Month KAL. I have been interested in sweaters this year, so I keep starting one per month, yet I am a slow knitter so knitting a sweater takes forever! I have yet to finish a sweater this year, and the year is almost halfway over. I currently have these projects actively OTN:

Bad Seed socks – 1 done

Mountain Colors socks – 1 done

red Regia socks, In the City socks, The Garden socks: cuff of sock 1

(January) Stash sweater
(February) Schachenmayr Micro sweater


(March) MicroSpun sweater
(April) Blackberry


(May) Palette sweater

So that makes, what, 5 sweaters and 5 socks OTN? Adding my wool scarf, which I think will end up becoming a sweater too, that makes 11 WIPs. I’m really scared to compare this list to my WIP it Out list – are there other things out there I don’t even know I’m “working” on? How many is too many WIPs, anyway?

6 Responses to “More honesty.”


  1. May 10, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    Too many WIP’s is OTHER people’s WIP’s.

    I was just staring at mine this morning, particularly since I have an overwhelming urge to start something new. Again.

  2. May 10, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    too many wip’s is when you can’t keep track of them anymore, I think!

  3. May 10, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    It’s too many when they start to stress you out. Can you take a break and just switch to sweaters every other month? That puts you ahead of the game – look at all the months you have sweaters started for! 😉

  4. May 11, 2007 at 3:16 am

    I think too many wip’s is when you are stressed about it and don’t enjoy it! Maybe you should try and finish some socks – they are small and getting them done always makes me feel better.

  5. May 11, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    too many is when thinking about them causes stress. Maybe you should cycle back to the start of the year and work on the january sweater this month, the feb one next month and so on. Five or six sweaters would be a pretty damn good tally for a year wouldn’t it?
    Not that I can talk. SInce WIP it out I’ve finished that afghan but the shawl is still at the same stage, Nadie’s alpaca sock still doesn’t have a mate and the brea bag is still waiting to be sewn up … and I’ve made several baby hats and started a hug-me-tight. Actually the hat thing works for me and might work for you … when the larger WIPs are stressing me out, I start and finish a baby hat for charity donation. Nothing like finishing something to spur you on.
    btw Your frogged Noro is thinking of being a bag.

  6. 6 Batty
    May 14, 2007 at 3:14 am

    It all depends on your experience. If you have 100 on the needles and are enjoying yourself, it isn’t too much. If you have 2 on the needles and it’s causing you to be frustrated, it’s definitely too much. You decide — and then do whatever it takes to make you happy!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

