02
May
07

Keeping honest

At the beginning of 2007 I joined a few KALs dedicated to knitting from our stash since I have a large stash and need to get it more organized. I didn’t join the main “Knit from Your Stash” because I felt that getting to buy sock yarn “free” was cheating, however, I cheated left and right (buy buying yarn) so I guess I shouldn’t have been so particular. I don’t have any hard data, but after not buying yarn from November to February, I then bought more than I should have since that time.

The goal I have been working on more diligently has been knitting from my stash, even as I am adding to it. I have actively been attempting to swap, give away or knit up yarn that I am not so fond of first, so as to “enjoy” what I am left with. This has mostly been in the form of sweaters begun, mostly for the Sweater a Month KAL, in which I have started a sweater each month, but have yet to finish one.

My most recent sweater, for the April section of the Sweater a Month KAL, I started a couple of weeks ago using up the Knit Picks Palette yarn I have. I do like Knit Picks yarn, but Palette is not my favorite, and I started off with I think 6 balls of red, and added 3 black and 3 cream before I realized that I don’t really like it. I like knitting cuff to cuff sweaters, so that is the goal of this one, only because I have a limited amount of yarn I think I’m going to do a knit to the middle (twice) sweater, then sew up the sides and sew the two together. It should be interesting, and slow, as I’m already a slow knitter and this is a sweater on size 4 needles. I’m also not so sure I will enjoy wearing a bright red and black sweater, but we’ll see.

How are your stash reduction/enhancement goals going?

8 Responses to “Keeping honest”


  1. May 2, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    So glad to hear from you again, Elspeth. When you posted about the fires yesterday, I realized you’d been MIA for a while.

    The secret to changing the photo is you have to go into your template and find the part that calls out the masthead image. Go to your Dashboard. Choose “Presentation,” then “Theme Editor”.

    I can’t swear that this holds true for every theme, but in my case, it’s the STYLE.CSS that holds the masthead image. Select that from the righthand side of the Theme Editor page, then find the line that begins with “#masthead”. Replace the image that it calls for with the url of the image you want to use. Remember, you’ll want to upload your own image to your server first!

    Don’t forget to click “SAVE” when you’re done! Anyhow, that’s my crude explanation of how I go about it. There are other subtleties to consider, like you might want to check the dimensions of the image you’re replacing first, then pre-edit your new image to match that.

    Good to see you again, and I hope that helps!

  2. May 2, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Jen’s explanation sounds good to me – I paid someone to do my blog design. πŸ™‚

    I had a similar experience last year when I joined Stashalong – Stashalong Backlash buying. OUCH.

  3. May 2, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    well that sucks that you discovered your template is now a sample one @ wordpress! 😑 I’m liking the faces. πŸ˜€ Hope you can figure out how to change the pic! as for stash reduction/enhancement–I don’t set any goals. lol. I have noticed that I have been increasing my stash but I haven’t much of a stash to begin with so that makes it okay, right?? πŸ˜‰

  4. May 3, 2007 at 1:29 am

    I didn’t join any stashalongs because every time I say I’m not buying yarn I start buying it all the time. I have been trying to knit from the stash, and give it away – and I have been….but probably not at an equal rate of what I’ve put in.

  5. May 3, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Interesting to read about your stash busting – I was so good for three months, had to win a bet with mr.sunneshine. Then last week a LYS went out of business and for $300, I undid any stash reduction that I had done before… but its beautiful yarn p0rn… now I am back on the wagon at least through July… The best part of the bust along was finishing all my wips – Don’t beat yourself up too much, look at the little picture (at least I know I will spend less on yarn this year then last), give yourself some props for the good things you have done (or not purchased!), and enjoy the knitting, most importantly!!

  6. May 3, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    Not at all good on the stash thing but I have to start, if only for the space.

    Wow. I can’t wait to see how the sweater looks. It’s always really fascinating to me to see them put together in different ways.

  7. May 4, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    I didn’t join any stash busting KALS – I NEED to buy and have yarn around me at all times!! πŸ™‚ And, if you feel up to another swap, you know where I am πŸ˜‰

  8. May 4, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Oooh, love the simleys πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ – sorry, got carried away! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

