13
Apr
07

Foiled again.

So here I am on day 3 of my Weight Watchers adventure (I did pretty well on the first two days, not perfectly, but much better than I had been doing pre-WW), and I was already trying to find a way to fit in going to Fuddrucker’s for dinner! The kids had a half day so we went to the Oakland Zoo, and I figured since I had already gone over the bridge, what was stopping in Emeryville for dinner? Unfortunately for my plan first the kids wanted to eat at the Zoo (and I skipped it), then I got going directly home without even a sign for Emeryville or S.F. I don’t go to the East Bay that much since the Job from Hell ™ so I’m not all that good at finding my way around if it’s not obvious. So oh darn, I had to eat within my Points today as well! I can’t wait until Wednesday when I can weigh in again, and the work I’ve done so far shows up, I really hope.

I got some knitting done today, which surprised me, since keeping track of three kids on your own at a packed zoo (I had forgotten it was the public schools’ spring break now so everyone was there) is pretty hard, but I got some work done on my Mountain Colors socks.

My next project will be a scarf (I think) for IM’s teacher. She moved from Japan to work at our school when DL started there 5 years ago, and has taught all three of my kids. She is really sweet, even offering to be my Japanese tutor and not charge me (DL offered but I’d have to pay him! Probably in Legos!). So since IM will be moving on next year I want to do something special for her.

Speaking of which, I can’t believe I didn’t show you the other present my parents gave me for my birthday!

Handmade for me sock blockers! I was trying to hint to my dad that he should make me some, since he made DL a great Harry Potter wand last year, but he did buy me a nice set on Ebay. They’re currently sporting my Tiny Dancer sock that is supposed to be in the Stitch N Bitch 2008 Calendar, but I need to get more to really block on them! And on that note, more socks:

2 skeins of Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn.  Stash accounted for: 157 skeins.  Sock pairs to be made: 27.

7 Responses to “Foiled again.”


  1. April 14, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Love the sockblockers! Yeah, when my brother saw the price on ebay, he said it was a great deal and no way was he making me any when I could buy them for that price!

  2. April 14, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    nice sockblockers! well, obviously you weren’t meant to eat @ fuddruckers yesterday!

  3. April 14, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Those are the cutest sock blockers I’ve ever seen! 🙂

  4. April 25, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Those are very cool sockblockers!

    I’ve got a Fuddruckers right across the street from me at work. Not even a little tempted. Now if it was far away……

    Don’t remind me. I’m pretty sure I’m fatter than the last time I joined WW and that was as fat as I’d ever been before. Gah. Why can’t I eat ice cream (by the carton) and lose weight? Or maintain?

  5. April 29, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Dear Elspeth
    My prize package arrived today [ you naughty naughty girl]
    woohoo … the pink is gorgeous and I may just have to make it into something for my friend’s disabled daughter who is the absolute queen of hot pink and the Noro … well that is one of my two favourite colourways of Silk Garden. Now I have to decide whether it’s going to be a hat, a bag or a scarf. Decisions, decisions. Shall blog about it properly tomorrow. For now. thanks again!

  6. April 30, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Just remember, if you don’t see a loss in the first week or even int he second, it’s okay. You will see a loss! It just sometimes takes a while to start showing up, but you will see it.

  7. 7 al
    May 1, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Hey elspeth, I found your blog looking for Bay Area knitters – I’m in Berkeley, but moving to Oakland next month. Would you be at all interested in the Knitters Against AIDS team for this year’s AIDS walk SF? I am trying to get some interest drummed up 🙂

    we have a website with an FAQ and links and stuff, and I think that if a bunch of people sign up it will be huge fun, so check it out at http://knitAWSF.blogspot.com

    thanks!

    Al


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

