11
Apr
07

This sucks.

So yesterday I decided, for the 7th time (I think) in my life that it was time to start Weight Watchers again. It is just really hard to face a tiny amount of Points when you are “vertically challenged” and therefore not able to eat any food in order to lose weight. You know the minimum Points, well I’m lucky that I’m just fat enough to be able to eat a slight bit more than that. After a night out with one of my moms (sort of my mom posse, I guess you could say), I went to WW today. It sucked. I am officially the fattest I have ever been when I haven’t been pregnant. The good news is that I had a fine eating day, and actually ate the correct number of Points (approximately – did you know they now have a “quiz” to determine what number of Points you should eat in a day?), not including the exercise I did as well. 1 day down, many many more to get through.

I was so stressed and upset at WW I didn’t even knit through the meeting. That’s saying a lot, I think, as I do KIP quite a bit. But I am getting some knitting done. I am working actively on my Mountain Colors socks, and need to finish the toe on my Regia socks. I still need to decide whether my Wildfoote socks are going to fit, and if not I’m going to frog them. I really don’t like knitting with Wildfoote, I’ve found, and I have 2 more skeins of it after this one.

Here’s more of my sock yarn stash:

2 skeins of Elann’s Sock it to Me Colori. I got it in a swap and really like the colors. I hope I can get to it soon, as I have a *lot* of sock yarn! Stash accounted for: 155 skeins. Sock pairs to be made: 25. (Yes, that’s 50 skeins of sock yarn so far!)

7 Responses to “This sucks.”


  1. April 12, 2007 at 10:56 am

    I do the weight watchers (though I don’t go to meetings), and since I’m closer to my goal and now under 150 I am on the minimum. I agree about how tough that is. As you watch the number of points you have left to eat go down towards the end of the day it gets a bit sad. What’s the quiz like?

  2. April 12, 2007 at 11:34 am

    More power to you for doing it even when it’s hard!

    I know WW works for so many, but I don’t do it, mostly because I don’t do well with group efforts like that. I’m just too strong-minded an individual, and tend to automatically rebel at anything someone else tells me to do.Won’t do something unless it’s my own idea, and if I can have the idea, why go to a group?

    Gawd, I’m so psychotic sometimes it’s a wonder I function. 🙂

  3. April 12, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Good luck with WW – I hope you can knit next time!!

    I HATE knitting with Wildefoot. It’s one of my least favorite yarns ever.

  4. 4 meg
    April 12, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    hey, lady! first off, congrats for facing it and getting started. i started 8 weeks ago and it has had its ups and downs but i know (from past exp, it works) and i’m down 8lbs ehh, it could certainly be better but i’m committed and know how hard it is.

    and like you, i was at the biggest i’d ever been and always thought to myself i would only weigh this much if i was ever pregnant to begin with. boo on me. hey, it’s great we’re both doing it and i’m right there with you on the struggle.

  5. April 12, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Hang in there!! I’m not doing anything and it shows..I feel the same way! Guess I need to get moving! I’ve not knit with Wildefoot yet, glad I only have 2 skeins of it though!

  6. April 13, 2007 at 4:17 am

    Congrats for getting started on WW! Im on it as well …ok, I tell myself I am but I haven’t tracked points in days. Sigh. I’m struggling with consistency and focus. Maybe we shoulld do a KAL for knitters on WW! Love the yarn!

  7. April 14, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    a quiz to figure out how many points a person can eat during the course of a day?? that is scary. too bad you didn’t get any knitting done @ the meeting..maybe as you start making progress you’ll be able to focus on knitting more @ the meetings. 🙂 wow, good to know about wildfoote!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

