06
Apr
07

You are not going to believe this.

I had a nice one day break, then I got more work! I was just barely starting to decompress and attempt to clean our house, and I guess I’ll never finish those WIPs since I don’t have any knitting time. I did at least frog one of my red socks this week because it just seemed a bit too tight. So I’ve only got 6 socks OTN at this point.

I did get a lot of TV watched yesterday, though, which was nice. I am so hooked on Friday Night Lights! The episode on Wed. was so good, I’m really sorry I have to wait another week to see the Season Finale! I did get into The Shield again, so I can’t wait for that, and The Riches is still pretty compelling.

I also caught up on my old episodes of Knitty Gritty last night. The camera work is so weird – it looks like it’s been filmed on someone’s personal digital camera! I was interested to watch the new class of designers, but I couldn’t get past the amateurish look of late.

Speaking of weird camera work, Friday Night Lights has some strange stuff going on as well. I might have mentioned that my M.A. specialization was sound in radio and television, so I often notice how they use the sound to enhance the video, or how the video is filmed in relation to the sound that “should” be happening there in real life. I love The Office and the fact that they are all obviously being videotaped. Sometimes the sound is really interesting, like one scene where the camera is supposed to be behind a wall while Michael and Jan are supposedly in an elevator across the hall. I enjoyed how the sound was designed to reflect them being behind a glass wall from the camera. Well, FNL has some scenes that you just don’t really understand who is supposed to be watching, and why the camera would go where it does. In Wednesday’s episode, Landry went to the guidance counselor, Tami Taylor, and was telling her about how Tyra had been attacked. As he’s talking, they bring the camera outside of the office, facing the window of the office door. It was really weird – are we supposed to think someone is outside the office watching Landry’s discussion? Did they have a reason to do that, something that made it to the outtakes reel, or was it not planned? Planned? Anyway, it was a bit disconcerting, like Tyra or someone else was going to come barging into the office, but the intrusion never came.
Did you see The Office last night? Hilarious! My favorites were how Angela looked like she was going to orgasm every time she asked someone to repeat the scene where Dwight “saved” Jim from Roy, and when Toby was so disgusted by sitting next to Ryan and Kelly (I loved to see them in relationship mode, too, I’ve never seen them at all affectionate or that Ryan cared at all) that he would rather face “getting hit in the head with a hammer” by Michael than sit there any longer!

No more TV for me for the weekend, I’m afraid, as I’ll be working and having another “date afternoon” (yeah!) then Easter brunch to get ready for until Sunday. So let me distract you with more of my unending stash.

7 skeins of Brilla (not the standard one you’d see now, I got this from a swap).

Stash accounted for: 151 skeins.

3 Responses to “You are not going to believe this.”


  1. April 6, 2007 at 9:38 am

    What is that Brilla composed of? It is so sheeny…

  2. April 6, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    That looks like such a shiny yarn — agreed, what is it made of?

  3. April 8, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    you know, I haven’t seen any of the newer episodes of knitty gritty. I’m going to have to check out a new epy soon!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

