04
Apr
07

Finally, an update!

I think my head is almost above water, as my two vacations of the year (I swear, I never go anywhere! It was just lucky that I was able to go to Portland, Napa and Santa Cruz recently) are over, two birthdays, and my work has tapered off. I will sure miss those regular paychecks, but I do need some time to decompress, knit and respond to all your wonderful comments!

I don’t know quite where to start, since I have so much going on, so I guess I’ll start at the beginning. You saw my Portland haul (I really suck at this yarn dieting, don’t I? Just like real life dieting.), so here’s my East Bay yarn haul.

First I met the moms in Berkeley for lunch, then convinced one to drive with me to Napa. She even let me stop at one yarn store along the way, Stash in Berkeley. I love this store! The owner (employee?) was even nice enough to let us use their bathroom. They had tons of great yarn, but I settled on this gorgeous Colinette Jitterbug, and 2 new circ needles.

Then we headed to Napa, and first sought out their LYS, Yarns on First. Downtown Napa was kind of a letdown. There were very few stores open, so not much shopping to do. I had expected a cute downtown filled with boutiques, but I must have missed them, because I found a vintage clothing store and Ben and Jerry’s. Yarns on First is one of those stores that organizes yarn by color, which is not my favorite way to buy yarn. They had a pretty good selection, but the only thing I was remotely interested in buying was this Naturewool yarn for $22 a skein! So I didn’t buy anything.

Next we finally navigated our way to the outlets, and I ended up buying some clothes, which was fun. The next day I left my friends to tour Calistoga and St. Helena. Calistoga no longer has a LYS, but someone has a listing and teaches knitting out of her home. St. Helena is the home of Muse. The owner gave great directions, and was really nice. Unfortunately it was one of those situations where I felt like I should buy something but nothing stood out. She did have more Jitterbug, which I hadn’t been able to find before going on my East Bay yarn crawl, but I had already bought some at Stash, so I passed. I ultimately bought this one lone skein of a gorgeous Koigu yarn, and the Naturewool that I hadn’t bought in Napa. I still don’t want to pay $22 a skein of yarn, but I felt guilty. I really wish the Koigu had had a mate, because it was that gorgeous.

Then yesterday I took the kids to Santa Cruz. After having lunch I bribed them into going to the LYS by offering them 2 rides each at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. We headed over to the Golden Fleece. If you go there – beware – they are just across the way from the Pacific Cookie Co. that sells their “seconds” for 50 cents each …

This store had a really great selection, and the owner had a really hands off approach. When I came in with three kids she didn’t even notice for awhile. I think a regular customer kept her busy, which worked for me. There were a lot of nice yarns to choose from, she even sells Henry’s Attic undyed yarn. I got to see in person some gorgeous Fiesta Yarns, among many others. I ultimately decided to go with my number one yarn, Cascade Pastaza.

But my praise for this store doesn’t end there. This woman was so nice! Even when the kids were running around the store nonstop and picked up a couple of skeins, she never batted an eye. I would definitely shop there again, if nothing else because my kids were so welcomed. Oh, and the gorgeous yarn.

And here’s one more piece of news, I received my Yarn Focus Challenge package today! Look at all the red and black goodies, chocolate (!) and yarn! Thank you so much!

Stash accounted for: 144 skeins.

Oh, I almost forgot my TV update! I haven’t had much time to keep up with my TiVo, but I did watch a few new (to me) shows this week that I really enjoyed. I’ve been going through withdrawal since Dirt ended last week, so I’ve been trying new shows. I’m really addicted to Friday Night Lights, which is moving up since my two favorites Dirt and The Office haven’t been new in awhile or won’t be new for a year (boo hoo!). Also, every time I see the CBS lineup I wonder why How I Met Your Mother and Two and a Half Men are on every week, but The Class ended very early, and isn’t being repeated. That was in my top 5, remember.

Anyway, this week I watched Six Degrees, with Campbell Scott and Hope Davis, and I was really interested. I have last week’s to watch on my TiVo as well and I can’t wait.  I also am into October Road, after watching the pilot and missing the second episode.  But then again I’m a girl, so I’m a sucker for romance.  Not too over the top romance, just the kind that’s been on FNL and October Road lately.

The Shield is back and I’ve started watching it again, but it’s slow going for me.  It has been in my top 5 since it started, but I’m not feeling it this year with so much competition and so many good shows.  I’ll keep watching, however.  I also am enjoying The Riches. I really really hate Minnie Driver, but this show is entertaining, and I’ll keep watching as long as I have a treadmill in front of my TiVo.

And the news – new The Office tomorrow! I can’t wait!

4 Responses to “Finally, an update!”


  1. April 5, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Wow – you really had a successful and busy Yarn Crawl! That last store does sound wonderful – I hate going into a yarn store and feeling like the owner is watching every move — and expects you to buy something expensive to qualify for looking at all. My LYS in Fargo, ND was like that — but the last one I went to in Columbius, OH was GREAT.

    I watched a few episodes of The Class on the internet when it came out — pretty good. It’s been cancelled? :o(

    Have a great day! Pretty yarns you bought!

  2. April 5, 2007 at 9:50 am

    oh, I’m glad the golden fleece was a good experience. I have never been there and didn’t know what you should expect. From your review, I want to check out Stash now–as if I’m going to be in the bay area anytime soon! lol. I watched Six Degrees when it first came out but haven’t been able to watch the last couple of episodes because they’re on Fridays. 😦 I’ll have to see if ABC airs them..fingers crossed!

  3. April 5, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Mmmm… that Pastanza looks wonderful, as does the Jitterbug. Sounds like a nice break!

  4. 4 meg
    April 6, 2007 at 7:25 am

    the opening scene of the office last night was one of the best scenes ever. dwight rules!!!

    all that yarn looks delish.

    i am not a minnie driver fan (except her character on will & grace was fab) but i love eddie izzard. I had to stop watching it because i was getting bored. maybe i should have waited it out a couple more episodes. oh well.

    do you watch 30 rock? its freaking hilarious. i loooove it!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

