29
Mar
07

I apologize!!!

I never go on vacation and even more rarely without the kids so I’m pretty frazzled this week. I’m trying to respond to comments (which I appreciate so much!) while balancing finding my own stash/WIPs/needles for photos, working (my boss has nonstop work for me which could go on forever!), my full time job (shuttling the kids to and from school, etc.), cleaning and resetting from last weekend’s trip, while getting ready for next weekend’s trip! I honestly don’t know how people who have to travel a lot for work do it.
Last weekend I was visiting my friend A. in Portland. He was very gracious, allowing me to visit Knit/Purl, mostly because he just happened to park right in front of it when we were looking for a non-existent place to have afternoon tea. (What a great friend – he knows I love tea, so he looked for a place to go, but it was out of business.) We ended up having brunch at Jake’s, then heading back to Knit/Purl. I think I loved it even more than the first time I visited! They used to have a BMFA wall, and actually that was where I purchased my Socks that Rock before it was even popular. Now they aren’t able to get enough of it so they don’t carry it at all anymore. No problem for me, though, as I’m not really a fan, and plus it was replaced by a Koigu wall! Mmmm, Koigu.

After shopping around, and being able to see in person so many yarns I was interested in, I settled on buying this sock yarn. I couldn’t decide on a color, so I bought two! Aren’t they gorgeous?

On Sunday A. and I went to brunch at the Benson Hotel, then did some shopping. I was so bad, though, since in the past I would have loved to just do some window shopping, but now I kept thinking that there were yarn stores I could be visiting, rather than shoe shopping with A.! I did convince him to take me to Yarn Garden on the way to the airport. Honestly, it is a full city block long!!!! And there are apartments to rent right upstairs! Can you imagine living upstairs from a gorgeous yarn store/coffee shop? There were so many things I wanted to buy, and that is saying a lot since you know I didn’t even buy anything at Stitches West! Here’s what I got:

3 skeins of Nashua Handknits Wooly Stripes. I just feel in love with this color, and this was all the yarn they had in this colorway. I also got:

4 skeins of SWTC Karaoke. I have wanted to try this yarn for years, but when I saw the red/black combination I had to get it! I also had a large skein of Great Adirondack Sierra in a gorgeous red in my basket. I had guessed it would be expensive (it was 600 yards, after all), but when the cashier told me it was $50 I decided against it. The sad thing is that if she had just rung it up I would have bought it, but since she made it plain how much just that yarn was, I felt guilty. And of course I haven’t been able to find it online to buy. I’m really tempted to call them and have them ship it to me.

(134 skeins accounted for.)

And last but certainly not least, my postman thinks I’m weird. Today I got a registered letter from Portugal (as he told me) — tea from my Swap-bot tea swap, and yesterday I got a registered package from Singapore! Chrissy sent me my Sock-ret Pal socks, and they are so soft and pretty! She also made me a tea pot cozy which I love! Thank you so much Chrissy!

5 Responses to “I apologize!!!”


  1. March 30, 2007 at 5:33 am

    I don’t think I could live in an apartment above a yarn store. Oh the temptation!

  2. March 30, 2007 at 7:36 am

    I always feel like laughing when I see a Nashua yarn on someone’s blog. Did you know that Nashua is the closest city to where I live here in New Hampshire? And the Nashua company is, in fact, located somewhere there? We’ve also got the main offices for Rowan somewhere in Nashua as well. The sad thing is there’s no factory store for either that I’ve ever heard of. 😦

    And then there’s your Great Adirondack yarn – we pass their hometown of Amsterdam, NY whenever we go back to Syracuse to visit my family! They’re just south of the Adirondack State Park, and west of Albany.

    Sounds like you had a great time on your trip – you certainly made some good finds!

  3. March 30, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Wow, you bought some great yarn!!! Hee hee – Chrissy was my Dye-O-Rama target.

  4. March 31, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    you picked out some great colors of sock yarn. i really like the nashua too!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

