22
Mar
07

Can you believe this?

So I’m going to Portland this weekend. I have some great friends who live in Maryland and to my great excitement are moving to Portland (home of the wife’s family) in May!!! So my friend (the husband) is up in Portland right now, researching housing, jobs and day care. He knows just how much I love Portland so he (jokingly?) invited me up this weekend. I was so lucky to be spoiled by BR who agreed to let me go! (And said I didn’t have to cancel my mom’s group’s retreat the following weekend – what a supportive husband I have!) Of course it is my birthday on Monday so I can use that for some guilt, but I still appreciate being able to take *two* vacations!

Anyway, this friend is the one that I forced to drive me into the Valley a few years ago so I could visit La Knitterie Parisienne. I could only convince he and his wife to let me go to one yarn store, but they were very patient with me.

Last time I met them in Portland, about a year ago, I did a tour of yarn stores, and they accompanied me to a couple of them. So here’s what I got in my latest email from my friend:

“You’re not gonna make me go around knitting stores are you??

Can you believe it? Like it was an option! I’m kidding, but I may try to find some of the other stores I didn’t see last time. Last time we had a great hotel location and I went to Knit/Purl (loved it!), Lint, and I believe Knit Knot Studio. I think I may try to see Yarn Garden and I’m not sure I can pass up a place called All About Yarn!

Continuing to document my stash may help curb my yarn buying:

One of my (I believe) 7 skeins of SWTC Beyond. I’ve tried desperately to knit with this in the past, but the nubby nature of the yarn makes a loose fabric, which I don’t like. Once I collect it all I’ll be putting it up at Good Yarn Karma, I think. Stash accounted for: 122 skeins.

7 Responses to “Can you believe this?”


  1. 1 meg
    March 23, 2007 at 6:48 am

    that sounds like a great trip. i’ve always wanted to check out portland. i hope you have a fabulous time.

    too bad you won’t be there next wednesday that’s when the mason-dixon ladies will be in town at abundant yarns.

    either way, you’ll have a great time, i’m sure.

  2. March 23, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Have fun! And happy early birthday. 🙂

  3. March 23, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Abundant Yarns in Portland has a cafe/bakery that was really good, so you could lure them there under the pretense of lunch and then act surprised that a yarn store is attached to it…..

    Fun! I love Portland.

    Oh, and I watched Dirt because of you. It was pretty good! So now it’ll be cancelled for sure.

    Happy Birthday!

  4. March 23, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Happy Early Birthday! Have a great weekend!

  5. 5 Batty
    March 24, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Happy early birthday! And of course you’re going to yarn stores. I’d be calling an ambulance if you weren’t!

  6. March 25, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Hi Elspeth, I’ve finally blogged about the fabulous yarn you sent (via GYK). Again, thank you so much – you went above and beyond the call of duty.

  7. March 26, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Happy birthday Elspeth!

    I can’t wait to hear about your yarn crawl in Portland.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

