20
Mar
07

Mr. Elton has brown eyes …

I admit I’m a bit late to the party (my friend Christine got me into Harry Potter last year, but was woefully remiss in not getting me into Jane Austen, one of her other favorites), but I’ve finally started watching Emma. I had heard that Clueless was based on that story, but I had never sought it out until TiVo randomly taped it for me, and I’m enjoying it. I’m only about halfway through it, so I’m hoping that it will play out like Clueless — remember how Tai liked Travis Birkenstock, but then he wasn’t good enough for her, according to Cher, then Cher convinced her to like “Elton” (gee, I wonder where they got that name 🙂 ) and then Elton didn’t really like her but she spent part of the movie going on about Elton and his likes and dislikes, but then she ended up with Travis Birkenstock after all? Well, I’m at the point in the movie where Miss Smith is going on and on about Mr. Elton (she can’t even enjoy puppies, because their eyes remind her of Mr. Elton!), who has just gotten engaged. I hope this means she’ll end up with her first choice, the farmer that Emma made her refuse.

It is so nice to get some time to watch TV and knit. For the past 3 weeks I have been frantically working, and actually I have two things I need to get done for my boss, but I decided to take last night to watch 24 and today to watch some of Emma today. We really need to get that TiVo thing where you can watch what you’ve taped in whichever room you want because I always end up taping things in the wrong room, then the kids are watching Power Rangers all day and I can’t watch my show!

Believe it or not I actually have 3 socks going on at this point! I’ve got my green socks on my treadmill, since they’re just stockinette socks, my cream socks in my purse (also at the stockinette point) and I just started another pair for my car out of some stash Knit Picks Sock Garden in Geranium. Like the Rocky Mountain Dusk yarn I totally underestimated the gorgeousness of this yarn. It was sitting in a bag ever since I got it from someone’s destash last year, and I only brought it out because I needed something to use my size 3 needles with. Upon closer inspection, you would not believe the colors! Red, hot pink and a gorgeous green. I’m not too fond of the brown that comes in between the red and green, but I love it anyway. It is almost too gorgeous to be hidden on my feet in socks. Here it is in its former yarn cocoon:

Poor, unassuming yarn. Stash accounted for: 106 skeins. Sock pairs to be made 16.

5 Responses to “Mr. Elton has brown eyes …”


  1. March 20, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    I love that I am not the only one who has small projects stashed to work on with 10 spare seconds… never tried the treadmill, you are a brave and coordinated woman!!

  2. March 20, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    I love Emma (and Clueless!)….always fun to watch. The KnitPicks yarn is gorgeous. Can’t wait to see it knit up!

  3. 3 Batty
    March 21, 2007 at 5:03 am

    I’m still trying to understand how some people can knit while working out. Me, I’d lose my pace, get carried away on the treadmill, and end up splattered all over the opposite wall. I don’t have that kind of coordination!

  4. March 21, 2007 at 5:28 am

    If I remember correctly, Emma is a bit different than Clueless, but I think you’ll like how Emma works out.

  5. March 21, 2007 at 9:43 am

    It’s fun when an unassuming yarn turns out to be great. Less fun when it goes the other way…


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

