14
Mar
07

Huh?

Where to start. Well, IM, my 2 1/2 year old kept me up all night again last night. He doesn’t sleep through the night, which is really enjoyable ;( Anyway, it gave me a chance to watch The Winner, a new show I taped because I now feel I must see most of the new shows and it has Rob Corddry from The Daily Show in it. I don’t get it.

Apparently the networks have an unlimited supply of money with which to start totally random shows and see if they take off. The premise, I think, of this show, is “part Wonder Years, part Married with Children”, which I didn’t get and/or agree with. Rob Corddry plays a stunted 32 year old (if he’s 32, I feel really bad for him, because he looks much older) who is supported by his parents and has a friend with a 12 (?) year old that he has a connection with. In this episode, the mom asks Rob’s character to take her son to Albany for a spelling bee, and the two bond on their immaturity. I’m too old for this s***.

I also watched The Black Donnellys last week, and was unimpressed. New shows up for me this week are The Riches, Raines and October something. I’ll watch them, but I’m not expecting much. First off I’m not a fan of Minnie Driver, but also how can they compare to The Office, Dirt and Friday Night Lights? We’ll see.

I’ve been working slowly on my Sock-ret Pal sock 2. I’m also doing some destashing, going down approximately 15 skeins of yarn this week, but then again I’m expecting maybe 6 back, but we’ll see. At least it gets me to go through my stash.

Here’s some I’m keeping:

1 skein of some mystery fiber by Ellen’s Half Pint Farms in my favorite “Eclipse” colorway. Skeins accounted for: 96.

4 Responses to “Huh?”


  1. March 14, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    He doesn’t sleep through the night? Oh no…

  2. March 14, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    I’ve been rather enjoying The Winner. I think we have to remember to add in “How I Met Your Mother” as part of the inspiration. It all makes more sense if you remember the context – this is a man who, in present day, is the richest man in Buffalo, with a wife and kids and everything. We’re seeing the beginning of his journey in 1994, from big loser who knows little about life and lives with his parents to Successful Rich Guy – in other words, from The Loser to The Winner.

    He’s paired with the kid because the kid matches his emotional maturity. When he was the kid’s age, he never had a friend like that, and the kid was in danger of being in the same position as an outcast geek. Their pairing will be good for both. Loser adult and outcast kid will grow together. The pairing helps the viewers to gauge the situation better – if we were dealing with Glen in the absence of a matching personality in a 12-year-old, we’d have trouble understanding where he was coming from.

    As for their immaturity on the Albany trip – their behavior was what two 12-year-olds would act like, without adult supervision. The trip also served to showcase the struggle that Glen’s got going on. He knows what adult behavior should be, he just doesn’t know how to do it himself, because his mother kept him emotionally stunted. He’s coming out of that shell, though, inspired by the return of his childhood crush in the boy’s mother. Now that she’s around, he wants to be all that a 32-year old should be.

    I’ve got The Riches in the Tivo, haven’t had a chance to see it yet. I like the idea of the premise. I find myself wondering if it will feel a bit like Weeds in mood?

    As for Dirt – I tried it. I have a pretty high tolerance for weird, for surrealist television, but Dirt went beyond the beyond for me.

    I’m looking forward to Raines – I love Jeff Goldblum – but like you, I’m not as hopeful as I’d like to be. It looks like it’s trying to pick up some blend of Medium, Ghost Whisperer, and Monk. It could be done right, and Goldblum is an actor who could do it. But it’s going to take exactly the right balance of stories and performances.

    Drive is one I’m looking forward to on Fox. Illegal, cross-country road race, with people from all walks of life competing. I’m a little annoyed with it because it stole an actress away from Two And A Half Men, the girl who played Charlie’s stalker Rose – I really felt her character was one of the best parts of that show. But I like her so much, I’m willing to see how she does on Drive.

    Meanwhile, the new season of The Loop is due to begin in a few weeks – there’s something else to look forward to!

    Sheesh…you’d think I was writing a blog post of my own! 8^)

  3. 3 Batty
    March 15, 2007 at 4:47 am

    I’m not much of a TV person, but I love yarn. And that yarn is gorgeous. I’ve never seen it before or even heard of it, but anyone who does a black and red or black and purple combination has impeccable taste. I need some of this stuff!

  4. March 15, 2007 at 7:23 am

    Sending powerful Chaotic Sleep Energy(tm) at IM!!!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

