11
Mar
07

TV update

Since we were mostly in reruns this week (but not Dirt, Thank God. I swear, it’s moving in on my first love The Office. Look out Jim and Pam, here comes Holt and Lucy.) I got to clear out some of my TiVo. I finally saw 24 and Lost this week, and they were much better than they had been in previous weeks. I’m glad I got around to watching them. I watched Medium, which I enjoy, and even Numbers, which I watched every week last year, but this year I haven’t been bored enough to watch it much. I like the potential addition of Jay Baruchel, formerly of Undeclared. I love Judd Apatow shows, and really loved that one. I think that will be my next TV show-based DVD purchase.

I tried out one new show this week – The Wedding Bells. It’s a new David E. Kelley (you know, singing groups, crazy characters, it’s got it all) show about a wedding planning family. It sucked. I also ruled out one previously favorite show, The Knights of Prosperity. I loved it for a few weeks, but last week I deleted it mid-show and this week I didn’t even bother taping it. I have heard it was cancelled, which is no surprise.

We also went out this weekend, which we get to do monthly thanks to the good graces of my MIL, who takes the kids to the beach for us to have a “date afternoon”. This time we saw Breach, with Ryan Philippe. I am glad I watched it, since it was such a big case and I am embarrassed to say I never heard about it before I saw the movie. The biggest spy in U.S. history, and I never heard about it. I guess because John Ashcroft made the statement, and I didn’t want to listen to anything he had to say. I even got some knitting done!

On the way to the movie theater I realized we were going to be sitting for 2 hours and the only thing I had with me was my Sock-ret Pal sock which has a pattern. I almost (okay I jokingly did) ask BR if we could drive home so I could get a stockinette project so I could knit at the movies. I am very proud of myself – I did end up knitting during the movie, from memory of the pattern (without looking at my knitting) and didn’t even have to rip it back after I was done! I am now just turning the heel of my sock. I really hope I can finish it by the end of the week so I can get back to my regularly scheduled knitting.

Today, Lu mentioned wanting to start knitting yet another pair of socks even though she had 4 on the needles (I tried to comment there, but Haloscan ate my post!) and I can totally relate. I have so much sock yarn – even more if you count other types of yarn that I could easily make into socks, and I could so easily start stockinette socks and hopefully rip through them quickly, but then again I have at least 4 pairs on the needles, so I’d be better off just finishing what I have started, right? Startitis is definitely a problem for me.

My stash list is growing. What scares me is that I’m pushing 100 documented skeins, and I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface of my yarn closet! Although in reality, I probably have about 500 skeins, well below the 1200 that someone on the Stashalong has. I’d better get moving 😉

1 skein of recycled sari silk yarn. Skeins accounted for: 95.

7 Responses to “TV update”


  1. March 11, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    Hi there! I saw your Noro post on the Destash blog. Would you consider trading for a combination of assorted black and red yarns? I have 3 balls of Takhi’s New Tweed in red, 3 balls of Crystal Palace’s Kid Merino in red, and a couple hanks of Koigu in red.
    =:8

  2. 2 Lu
    March 11, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    100 is nothing. 500 is normal (I have 499 accounted for but I know that I have missed some). what really scares me? it’s almost 90 km in yarn.

  3. March 12, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Hmm, I don’t even want to think about the number of skeins I have!!!! Yikes…

    I think I have 4 pairs of socks on the needles, although one’s about to be ripped back and one’s worsted weight and obligation knitting – it’ll be fast when I force myself to do it!

    Nice that you got out for a “date”!

  4. 4 Batty
    March 12, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Yum, sari silk! It comes in such pretty colors!

  5. March 12, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Boy, The Wedding Bells didn’t just suck. It sucked stinky, rotten, ostrich eggs. Kelley should stick with the law, and even then, it should come with a warning label. (Boston Legal, Ally McBeal, The Practice, okay – several of his others, not so much.)

    And let’s not even get into the farce that was The Brotherhood of Poland NH. It was pretty obvious he has no idea what life in this state is like!

    I gotta get me some sari silk one of these days – pretty!

  6. March 12, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    I have no idea what my stash numbers and I don’t want to know. No! lalalalala.

    Cancelled TiVo midshow? That’s bad! I barely watched anything this week.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

