03
Mar
07

I caved.

Thursday my oldest son had a performance rehearsal at the Oakland Mormon Temple so we dropped him off at 9 and had until 2 to entertain ourselves. We ended up having breakfast, then stopping by the Knitting Basket, which is very close to the temple. I had been there about 4 years ago for a previous performance rehearsal, and it wasn’t too exciting but it is a yarn store and local, so I had to stop by. They are one of those yarn stores that organize by color, which I’m not too fond of. Anyway, of course at 10 am we were the only customers and I had two kids with me, so it was slightly hard to shop for yarn. The employees were very nice, and were even trying to entertain my kids so even though I didn’t find anything I wanted to buy, I felt like I had to buy something. They even had a couple of sock yarns I was interested in, just no good colors. So I ended up buying this Zarina. I really like the colors, and may end up making socks with them.

Oh how I wish “forced” yarn purchases didn’t count, but I’m going to have to count this for my yarn buying day for March.  And on March 1st, even.

It’s funny how going to Oakland really seems like a “vacation” to me, since it’s pretty close but we just never make it over to the East Bay, and definitely not to spend the whole day.  I used to work in Emeryville, but that was when we lived right across the bridge in San Francisco, and it was much closer.

Today we’re going to Marin and I would love to stop at the yarn stores in San Rafael and San Anselmo (at least) but I’m sure everyone would rather I didn’t. It’s funny how even though Marin is farther away than Oakland, I don’t consider it “vacation” yarn.  Probably because BR’s family is there so we go more often.

And by the way, that’s 89 skeins of yarn accounted for in my stash.

3 Responses to “I caved.”


  1. March 3, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    It would make very fun socks!!

    Dang, already done with your purchases for March?!!! Oh oh…

  2. March 4, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    I’m having a hard time sticking to my yarn diet too! Love the yarn!

    Your swap package came in the mail yesterday and I love everything. The sock pattern is so cool can’t wait to get started on the other sock! I just posted everything on my blog.

  3. March 4, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    not listening to your purchase, lalalala – LOL!! There are parts of my town that I don’t get to visit often, and it is like vacation…. even though its not! Its almost better, cuz I know where I want to go and so fun to visit all the stores that I rarely get to see..


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

