28
Feb
07

More Dirt!

I heard a rumor that the viewership of “Dirt” with Courteney Cox went down after the first few episodes. Well I want to tell the powers that be – I love “Dirt”! Don’t even think about getting rid of it! It is my second favorite show these days, after “The Office” of course. (“The Class” running a close third – inching up, actually, after the drama on Monday’s show!) After the date rape scene of last week, this week they’re being held hostage by a child star who wants some publicity! (“Oh my God, he killed Kenny!”) I really enjoy this show.

There is other dirt going on here – gossip. I finally received the yarn I ordered on February 14th. It looked gorgeous in the photo, and I was supposed to get a PayPal rebate (that’s still up in the air), so I bought it. After I paid for it I heard *nothing*. Not even a “we’re really swamped, but we got your money and plan to send you the yarn”. Nothing. Finally last week I emailed them to ask about it. I got a “we’re really swamped” email. Like that’s supposed to be my problem. It seems to me if you can’t keep up with your orders, maybe you shouldn’t list as much so you can fulfill what you sell in a timely manner. Meanwhile I started reading their feedback, and the one negative stood out – the person had ordered purple and black yarn and received red and black yarn. She also said it “smelled heavily of perfume”.

So today I come home to a package, one week after the “we’re swamped because we’re so popular” email. It did smell a bit (more than yarn usually does, but not as bad as the mothball-smelling yarn I bought on Ebay once), but mostly I’m not convinced I like it. It’s not as soft as I would have imagined, and the colors aren’t doing too much for me in our fluorescent lighting. I’m going to check it out in daylight tomorrow and hope I change my mind. I’m in trouble if I can’t order yarn online, since obviously I have been not motivated to buy yarn in a store lately either.

That being said, I’m spending the day in Oakland tomorrow and will probably stop by at least one yarn store.  Does going to a yarn store 30 minutes away count as “vacation” yarn? 😉

6 Responses to “More Dirt!”


  1. February 28, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Hmm, that might be pushing “vacation” a WEE bit. Sorry that the yarn isn’t living up to your expectations – that’s always so frustrating.

  2. February 28, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    Oh, that’s a shame about that yarn!

    Is it possible the aroma is from excessive use of a scented wool wash?

  3. March 1, 2007 at 10:55 am

    I love Dirt too! It’s much better than a bunch of my old favorite shows that have gone downhill.

    😦 To the yarn sellers. There’s no reason to not get out yarn quickly. And if it smells, at least put a candle in there to make up for it!

  4. 4 Su
    March 1, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Vacation? In Oakland? Nah, come over the bridge to Marin…that’s a vacation…and we have yarn stores too!

  5. March 1, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    Don’t be silly, of course it’s a vacation. Or – there’s no there there, so how can it count against you?

    I never have caught Dirt yet.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

