27
Feb
07

Who needs Stitches? Or a LYS, for that matter?

I’m done with my Second Sock Syndrome II sock. I knitted it out of Knit Picks Sock Landscape in Rocky Mountain Dusk (a gorgeous purple, lavender, dark blue and black) on size 3 needles. My swap partner does Magic Loop, however, and since it was a rather large needle size for socks, I wanted to send her a 40″ size 3 Addi needle. Since I had done Stitches on Friday (in their defense, they did have Inox and Addi needles that I could have used there, but the places that had what I needed had really long lines because they had the best yarn choices.) I decided to just stop by my LYS.

I used to have one LYS two towns over (which then moved even closer), but then a LYS opened in our town. Technically there is a “needlepoint and knitting” store in my town already, but their yarn selection is spotty and their hours are horrible – they are only open 9 to 5 on weekdays! The new LYS in our town was at Stitches so I assumed like the other hundred LYS (local and not so local) at Stitches that they would be closed because they had a booth at Stitches. That, and the last time I was there they only sold Crystal Palace and Clover needles.

So I went to my former LYS. I have never liked their new location (being right next to a Jenny Craig doesn’t help – I hate the guilt), because it is really crowded. It’s not messy or anything like other LYS (we run the gamut around here, and there are quite a few to choose from as well), but just organized in such a way that you cannot bring a stroller in and frankly it’s not very roomy even if you don’t bring your stroller. The first thing I noticed was that they were closing on Sunday *so their employees could go to Stitches*! They’re already closed Monday, and Stitches is at least 3 days, they can’t find staff who can come in while other staff go and then rotate?

Anyway, I used to go to their “odd ball” basket and find some nice skeins. In this case I hit the “gauntlet” of one of the two staff members at the store following me around and not making me feel comfortable to shop. They also do not carry 40″ Addi needles, so that was a waste of a trip. Did I mention I didn’t buy anything? In a yarn store?
Since I knew another LYS that did carry a great selection of needles (but a bit of a drive), I called them and to my surprise they actually had in stock (and were open) a 40″ size 3 Addi needle! I convinced (not very easily) the kids to let me go to the yarn store to pick it up. We all went down there, found a couple of nice staff members, got the needle I wanted, and (this is the important part of the story) *again* I did not buy yarn! The kids were good. I did get some shopping time, but nothing called out to me.

So this weekend I went to Stitches and two LYS, and window shopped at Little Knits and Webs and I did not buy yarn! I’m very surprised at my restraint. However, this could lead me to the #3 weird thing about me. At least my ex-boyfriend thought it was weird enough to mention.

3. When shopping, I make a collection of things I want to buy (being somewhat of an impulse shopper), and then somewhere from the store to the line, I end up putting a lot of it back. I just start thinking why I don’t really need all these things and put them back. I also do a lot of returning, even after buying stuff. I wish I could do this with chocolate – since I really don’t need all the chocolate I buy and eat. 😦

Anyway, the main reason I don’t currently need Stitches or a LYS is the amazing swap gifts I’ve received recently!

I am very late in mentioning my Sock-ret Pal, who sent me a gorgeous handmade bookmark all the way from Singapore!

I also received two gorgeous skeins of yarn from two different people of Good Yarn Karma:

Mellenweit Sock Yarn from Jae!

Fiesta La Boheme from a generous anonymous donor!
I received some gorgeous hand-dyed yarn from my Swap-bot handdyed yarn swap:

and last but not least, my Sassy Sock Yarn swap from Swap-bot came, all the way from Norway!

And that makes stash accounted for: 82 skeins. Socks to be made: 12 pairs.

5 Responses to “Who needs Stitches? Or a LYS, for that matter?”


  1. February 27, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I’m glad to see that you have reciwed the yarn πŸ™‚ Hope you’ll have a great time knitting a pair of it! Have a nice wednesday πŸ™‚

  2. February 28, 2007 at 6:39 am

    Fantastic yarn goodies! Yarny mail is the best.

  3. February 28, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    You are so strong, resisting all that temptation. Way to go!

    Dang, I really love that Meilenweit colorway. Of course, I’ve never seen it in a store. Figures.

  4. February 28, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Looks like you’ve been rewarded well for your restraint!

    I do the same thing, grab a lot of stuff and slowly put it back. I think it’s a good thing, that way I don’t buy all my impulses.

  5. March 1, 2007 at 11:22 am

    i shop the way you do too–grab a few things and then when I’m in line @ the register, I start thinking, “Do I really need this…?” the bookmark and the handdyed yarn are very pretty! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

