14
Feb
07

WWYD?

Help, I think I need an intervention? What would you do?

As I’ve mentioned, I haven’t bought yarn since last year. I have been tempted, but always cancel the sale right before I order yarn. Meanwhile, today someone mentioned some gorgeous yarn on Etsy. It’s perfect for me. Quite frankly, the only reason I haven’t ordered it yet is because of the shipping – 4.65 plus 1.00 per skein.

Help! I really don’t need more yarn, but it is so gorgeous, and so me! What do you think?

ETA: I succumbed. It is totally Jen’s fault. She pointed me (twice!) to a PayPal promotion where you can get $15 back for making a $30 or more purchase on PayPal. So of course I had to buy this gorgeous yarn. I really hope I like it as much in person. I’ve had some bad experience ordering yarn online, especially recently.

Soooo … That puts me at 0 days without having bought yarn. I just used my first free day for the year. I’ve got Stitches West and a “vacation yarn” risk when I go to Napa in late March, but otherwise I should be pretty good for the rest of the year. Unless I could convince BR to let me go to MDSW – I almost had him convinced last year.

And in the spirit of full disclosure, here is more of my current stash:

x

1 skein of FurrYarns MaineBear Sox yarn in “Martian”. Stash accounted for: 67 skeins.

7 Responses to “WWYD?”


  1. February 14, 2007 at 7:59 am

    Um, I think I’m going to stay out of this one! It IS perfect….. 😉

  2. February 14, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    This is going to get interesting…

  3. February 14, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Stitches West risk? Hello, I think buying yarn there is a certainty. 🙂

  4. 4 elspethm
    February 14, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Yeah, I’m sure I’ll end up buying yarn at Stitches – luckily I’ll have another free day by then!

  5. February 14, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Mea Culpa. But I don’t regret it one bit, because I think that yarn was made for you! And it is a heckuva value when you add in that rebate!

    :^)

  6. 6 Batty
    February 15, 2007 at 10:21 am

    When yarn that gorgeous comes along, you should definitely buy it. Until I read that you bought it, I was hoping you wouldn’t, because it’s absolutely gorgeous and I wanted it for myself!

    Good purchase. No regrets, enjoy your yarn!

  7. February 15, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Good, because I would totally have bought it immediately. Then possibly stewed about it. That yarn is practically screaming your name. How could you think of not buying it?

    Jericho on Wednesday nights. Jericho, then Bones (taped) then CSI-NY. No time for Lost. Besides, Matthew Fox says I’m not a real fan, and I think he’s right. (EW quoted him. What a jerk.)

    Oh! I managed to catch PB on 24 Monday AND follow the storyline! mostly.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

