11
Feb
07

I’ve gone and done it …

I haven’t been in an official “Secret Pal” (I have done the more specialized swaps for awhile, though), but I thought 10 was a nice round number to jump back into it with. Here are my questionnaire answers:

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?

Alpaca, silk, soft wool. I don’t like scratchy yarns and am not fond of acrylic and acrylic blends.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?

I’ve got some great storage containers, two of which made by Zonda but really they’re all over the place.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I learned in high school, and picked it back up in November, 2003. I think I’m intermediate, as I’ve never done intarsia, fair isle, or magic loop or toe up socks.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?

Amazon

5. What’s your favorite scent?

Coffee, chocolate, vanilla, plumeria.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?

Definitely! I love chocolate of all kinds except anything with hazelnuts. I also love caramel, toffee and coffee flavored candy.

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?

I don’t spin. I do some beading and dyeing of yarn.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)

I like pretty much everything if it’s in cover form 😉 but if it’s not a cover I like everything except the American Idol-style singing and rap.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?

red, black, and I hate pastels.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?

married with three sons and no pets 😦

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?

not usually, but I’d be willing to try!

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?

lately I’m into sweaters of all kinds, and bags, but I don’t like felting.

13. What are you knitting right now?

socks for my Sock-ret Pal and two sweaters. There are tons more in my WIP pile.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

Sure!

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?

Circular and no material preferences.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?

Yes!

17. How old is your oldest UFO?

I’d say at least a year.

18. What is your favorite holiday?

Valentine’s Day (because of the red!), Easter (because of the candy!) and Mother’s Day.

19. Is there anything that you collect?

besides yarn? Cover versions of songs, knitting patterns and books.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?

I have a subscription to Vogue Knitting and Interweave Knits. I have an ongoing list of books on my Amazon wishlist.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?

Basically the four I haven’t tried: intarsia, fair isle, toe up and magic loop for socks.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?

Yes. My feet are a size 8 U.S., about 10 inches long.

23. When is your birthday?

March 26.

And to show a good example of what I collect, here’s more stash documentation:

This is 4 skeins of Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Onyx. I also have some more in Prairie Fire, a gorgeous red/gold combination. Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride is one of my top 10 yarns.

Stash accounted for: 56 skeins.

0 Responses to “I’ve gone and done it …”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

