06
Feb
07

Thank You for the Music

One day my TiVo randomly taped “Nocturnal State”, VH-1’s overnight video show. I have been frustrated for years that MTV has the nerve to still call themselves (sometimes) “music television” when there is no music to be found, but thanks to TiVo we have found the music, at 3 a.m. Anyway, I watched it, and I liked many of the videos. I’ve gotten to like it so much that I actually got a Season Pass to the show. Recently I tried to tape some of the other video programs that are on in the middle of the night, and frankly I didn’t like any of them. Nocturnal State does have it’s “adult oriented music” like it did when it began, but it also has way more independent/alternative music, or at least it plays more of it than MTV does. Also, I’m not a rap fan, or “urban”, which is what MTV specializes in currently. They’re a long way from “Video Killed the Radio Star” at least.
Which leaves me wondering, am I just old, or is the music actually better on VH-1? And don’t even get me started on VH-1 Classic. I could watch “The Alternative” all day.

ETA: I totally forgot “Austin City Limits”! When I was growing up it was all country music, and now it’s alternative bands! So again I ask you, am I getting old and just liking the “old people” music, or is the “old people” music just changing to be what I like? Rilo Kiley and Death Cab For Cutie performing on PBS. I find it very disconcerting.

More future video watching knitting: some of my collection of Knit Picks Palette yarn.

Red Palette
I only found 4, but I think I had more red, and I know I have some black and white as well. Not sure what I’m going to do with it, though. Skeins accounted for: 50. And I have barely touched the surface of my yarn closet. Hold me, I’m scared.

6 Responses to “Thank You for the Music”


  1. February 6, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    LOL – I think I have 50 skeins in one bin, and I have A LOT of bins…

    If you want to listen to some varied music, try mpr.org and click on the link to the Current. They play an amazing range of stuff – from Patsy Cline to Nirvana to Hank III to some rap to more more more. Pretty amazing.

  2. 2 Batty
    February 7, 2007 at 6:02 am

    More red yarn! Yeah!

  3. February 8, 2007 at 8:15 am

    I haven’t watched MTV in years, but I took a look at it and you’re right! No music to speak of. Of course, I probably wouldn’t like the music they’d play anyway.

  4. February 8, 2007 at 8:48 am

    My husband is right there iwth you on the MTV thing. It hasn’t been music television for years and years. now it’s all reality all the time television.

  5. February 8, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    what the heck do they have then if no music???? We haven’t had cable in eons – so I haven’t a clue what’s on MTV ROFL.

  6. February 8, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    Austin music has gotten cool, and I agree its great that ACL has gotten cool too. I saw the Shins on it a while back and they kicked butt. Best show on PBS, aside from some of the Nova specials…


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

