01
Feb
07

“Coto is stupid”

My guilty pleasure from last year is back. “The Real Housewives of Orange County” is a reality show (or is it?) that focuses on 5 women who live in a gated community in Orange County, California. My first problem with the show is Jo, the person who recently said “Coto is stupid” to her boyfriend, Slade. Jo is not a housewife. She is the 26 year old girlfriend of Slade, a Coto homeowner. Last season they were engaged, but she was not a housewife then. But she is just as annoying as the other women on the show.

Another of my favorite quotes from the episode I taped from Tuesday was “I’m a Republican. I don’t even really know what that means. Last year I was going to a party at the Playboy mansion. This year I’m going to a Republican party.” Her “conservative” clothing was a black dress with a very, very revealing neckline. Lauri is a twice-divorced mom of three kids, one of whom is in and out of juvenile hall. She just recently got engaged to George, who is the staunch Republican and was encouraging her to go to the aforementioned party.

And finally (for the purposes of this discussion), there is Vicki. She is an insurance salesman who basically supports her husband and two kids. She is incredibly controlling. Yesterday, she actually said (not a direct quote, but you get the idea) “The bible says sex before marriage is wrong. Sex is a gift you give to your spouse, so my daughter cannot have sex before marriage. I had sex before marriage.” So, what’s wrong with this picture? I love that it’s okay for her, but not her daughter, who seems rather sane considering her mom.

And yeah, I’m going to keep watching.

sweater2.JPG

While I was busy being disgusted by the wealthy in Southern California, I started my second sweater for the Sweater-a-Month KAL. It’s going to be a bolero-type short sweater. I am so glad I got rid of my Filatura di Crosa 501, so now I’m moving on to another yarn that I hate and want to get rid of.

micro.JPG
4 skeins Schachenmayr Micro in dark red, plus one and a half in the middle of my Red Scarf #3. It’s a really weird color. Sometimes it’s an ugly burgundy. Sometimes it’s a gorgeous dark red. But it’s always a Lion Brand Micro Spun replacement – splitty and very acrylic-y.

Stash accounted for: 43 skeins.

3 Responses to ““Coto is stupid””


  1. 1 Batty
    February 2, 2007 at 5:37 am

    I love red yarn. It keeps showing up in my stash, don’t know where it comes from…

  2. 2 Jen
    February 2, 2007 at 11:20 am

    (bangs head on wall) No…no…no! Are you going to get me watching the Real Housewives now, too? I’d successfully avoided them so far, but you have this way with words when you describe a show you enjoy… LOL

  3. February 2, 2007 at 11:47 am

    It’s interesting that your most hated yarns are the ones you’re using the most recently!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

