21
Jan
07

Silence …

I am finally getting to the most recent Grey’s Anatomy.  What is up with everything being on Thursday these days? And you know The Office will always be priority #1!  Anyway, one of my specialities/interests in my Masters’ program is the use of silence in sound design.  There was a great example of a use of “silence” (there was actually a soundtrack playing, but there was no speaking, so it’s sort of silence but not necessarily in a sound design way, more of a script way, but I digress …) when Christina goes in to see Burke and each of them refuses to speak to the other in order to not give up control in the relationship. I wonder if Kaja Silverman would love this episode?!

I’m still not sure what is going on with the red scarf #2. I will probably keep knitting it, but won’t even try to send it in because it’s really not manly enough for the Red Scarf Project. Before I started knitting with the Schachenmayr Micro, I started a square/entrelac/modular/short row/something with my endless supply of Filatura di Crosa 501. If you recall, I already made my Katrina Rib and my Primary socks out of the 10 skeins I owned of this yarn. It was everywhere, and appeared to be breeding like rabbits! Now, I go to make something else out of it and it’s disappeared! So, I’m making square number two, and we’ll see where it goes. My most recent thought was a sweater-y thing made out of sewn squares (My “Coat of Many Colors” a la Dolly Parton) which will work with the fluctuating collection of this yarn.

3 Responses to “Silence …”


  1. January 22, 2007 at 8:41 am

    I sent in a very non-manly Red Scarf last year… Go for it!

  2. 2 Jen
    January 22, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Ah, found you! 🙂

    You know, I came back to The Office because you raved about it, and I have to say, the last two episodes especially have gotten me hooked.

    Now, after watching Michael get so upset about losing Dwight, and go to demand that he come back, and tell off that jerk…finally, I feel as though I can like these people and care about what happens to them.

  3. 3 elspethm
    January 22, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Yeah, the last two episodes have really made up for the lamer earlier episodes. I just love that show!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

