08
Sep
06

The ’80s revival

Did you know I’m a Silicon Valley Mom? Yesterday was dedicated to fashion related posts which got me thinking about fashion all day. Believe me, I don’t do it too often, except to tune out when people talk about “Project Runway”.

Poor Jack Drag, he didn’t sleep through the ’80s revival (as stated in his song “Tattoo”), because it is here! I had heard that legwarmers were back in style but I hadn’t seen any out and about. Actually, I never wore legwarmers in the ’80s but after walking around campus today I was ready to make some with my stash yarn. After unsuccessfully trying to get my four graduation forms signed, I headed over to the mall.

I remember in the ’80s loving to shop at Express. It was a new store, totally ’80s and the closest to me was at Lakeforest Mall in Gaithersburg, MD. For some reason I stopped in today and the ’80s just hit me in the face. I don’t know if I would have necessarily been able to describe these ’80s fashions, but I knew them when I saw them (wasn’t that also a famous ’80s quote — someone knew what was offensive when he saw it?) and they were definitely ’80s. Really dance-y clothes straight out of “Flashdance” and really tailored clothes that I wish I had the body to wear again.

So my next project: black legwarmers. Stay tuned.

0 Responses to “The ’80s revival”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

