28
Jun
06

115153155989766757

Quick update #2:

I’m still in Maryland. We just missed being evacuated because of the local dam and all the flooding recently. Hopefully the rain has subsided for awhile.

Today I took OR for a trip to Frederick, MD. I found out on our trip back from NYC that there are Waffle Houses farther North than I expected, so I looked for our closest one and who knew it was only about 30 min. away in historic Frederick! (Also home of the 2.89 gas!) So we went for waffles (boy do I love that place — I’m so excited that we’re just South enough to have them!) and then to the first yarn store on my list, Eleganza Yarns. What a cute store! They have a lot of Rowan yarns, plus lots of other types and I even saw Addi dpns, which I heard were hard to find (I’ve never seen them in person). They have a big selection of Brittany needles too, which are my favorite mostly because of their amazing customer service. They also have some sock yarns, and I picked up some Regia that I didn’t have (believe it or not) and some interesting Lana Grossa “Magic Boot” which will be fun to try out. Of course I just discovered their big yarn sale is this weekend — d’oh!

There is another yarn store in Frederick but it was a bit out of the way and didn’t really look open or at least not inviting so we didn’t even bother.

Up later this week: All About Yarn in Columbia. My mom even got a coupon for me! I also want to try Knit + Stitch = Bliss which isn’t too far from us in Bethesda. Anyone remember the Simpsons’ episode with Alec Baldwin and Kim Basinger where they made a funny comment about Bethesda? I thought it was hilarious!

Not much knitting being done, however. I’m either working (yeah!) or making sure the kids don’t get into too much. I’m sure my parents will be happy when we’re safely on our way back to California.

3 Responses to “115153155989766757”


  1. June 14, 2007 at 1:26 am

    This one makes sence “One’s first step in wisdom is to kuesstion everything – and one’s last is to come to terms with everything.”


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2006
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

