08
May
06

114715515515671714

I’m in the Dye-O-Rama swap, and we just came up with some questions to answer (a.k.a. a meme), so here goes:

Your favorite colors?

red, black, hot pink

Preferred yarn weight (Fingering, Sport, DK, maybe even Worsted)?

fingering

Do you prefer solid or multicolored yarn?

surprise me.

If your buddy is able to do so, would you like a variegated, self-striping, or self-patterning yarn?

Sure! I like variegation best, if I have to choose. I don’t care if stripes or a pattern come out.

Would you be interested in a wool blend sock yarn (nylon, tencel, silk, acrylic, alpaca, etc.)?

Sure.

Imagine the perfect colorway. What would you name it?

Well, Lisa Souza took it: “Little Devil”. Or maybe “Courtney Love” because she used to wear those baby doll dresses.

What was the biggest appeal to you for joining this dye-along?

Because I’m obsessed with hand dyed sock yarn these days! My money finally ran out, but I have been obsessed lately with finding the most gorgeous red sock yarn!

Have you dyed yarn/fiber before?

Yes, with Kool-Ade.

If so, what’s your favorite dye and method?

That’s the only one I’ve tried so far, but it was fun and easy.

Do you spin?

No[t yet?]

Have you knit socks before?

Yes.

Do you use sock yarn for just socks or in other patterns too?

So far just socks, but I have tried out other patterns too, just not successfully.

What are some of your favorite yarns?

Recently I’ve been trying out some of the more homegrown yarns (my favorite being from Ellen’s Half Pint Farms I got at Stitches West) but my more standard favorites are Brown Sheep Wool, Cascade and Noro.

What yarn do you totally covet?

I’ve got a running list at http://elspeth100.blogspot.com (I’ve been window shopping!)

Favorite patterns?

Teva Durham and other interesting ones, but nothing specific.

Any pattern you would love to make if money and time were no object?

None I can think of at the moment. I’m too sleep-deprived.

Favorite kind of needles (brand, materials, straights or circs, etc)?

Circs. My most favorite these days are Susan Bates because I’m doing a lot of socks but I just enjoy knitting on circs.

If you were a specific kind of yarn, which brand and kind of yarn would you be?

Probably the Lisa Souza laceweight in “Little Devil” I coveted at the TKGA Market!

Do you have a favorite candy or mail-able snack?

Chocolate! I’m always interested in trying out local favorites.

What’s your favorite animal?

Cats.

Do you have pets? What are their species/names/ages?

No, DH is allergic.

If you were a color what color would you be?

red.

Describe your favorite shirt (yours or someone else’s)..

A black fitted oxford with bell sleeves that have cut out designs near the wrist.

What is your most inspiring image, flower, or object in nature?

Probably any flower.

Tell me the best quote you’ve ever heard or read.

“I don’t have to admit anything” — “Rubin” (Crispin Glover) in “Rubin and Ed”

Do you have a wishlist?

Yes.

Anything else you’d like to share with the group today?

No.

0 Responses to “114715515515671714”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

