02
May
06

114658164099927879

Well, after much thought, I decided to stay here at Blogger for the time being. I had wanted to use WordPress to design a new blog/website but I just don’t have the time to do it right right now, so I figured I would get a site at WordPress. What I didn’t realize was that while it looks nice, it is extremely uncustomizable. They don’t want to give up any of their HTML or other code, so you can’t see the template code like you can here or when you create it yourself.

Here’s what I majorly dislike about Blogger — it is practically impossible to respond to people’s comments other than within your own comment structure or going onto their blog and commenting totally unconnectedly. Commenting is a big part of blogging, so you’d think a company that is now part of Google would figure that out. Or maybe I’m just unaware of its functionality. So — what do you all do when you want to respond to comments made on Blogger? I’m not really a fan of Bloglines but I’ll do it if I have to, especially if that is the only way I can do it.

Meanwhile, I am thisclose to finishing my Sockapaloooza socks. I am on the toe decreases of the second toe. I should be able to get it out today, assuming I can get to the post office while it’s open. Now that they have “the machine” I could potentially go when they’re closed, but get them out today.

4 Responses to “114658164099927879”


  1. May 2, 2006 at 8:33 am

    Elspeth, I use Haloscan for comments (www.haloscan.com). It will install its code automatically into your Blogger template for you.

    I can subscribe at Blogspot to the page at Haloscan that runs my comments. And the commenters’ e-mail address is linked to right next to their name, making it easy to reply.

    The service is free, or for a lifetime, one-shot payment of $12 you can get more features – primarily, the storage limit for comments is lifted.

  2. May 2, 2006 at 9:03 am

    I have blogger email me my comments, if the commentor entered their email address it allows me to reply to their email, if they didn’t i go to their blog and grab their emil and go from there. if they don’t have a blog and don’t enter their emial, i generally don’t reply to their comment, unless i feel it necessary, at which point i will discuss it in my next post.

  3. May 2, 2006 at 9:04 am

    Dang was that some creative spelling or what? Email email email, and I found the shift key too!

  4. May 2, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    Welcome back to blogger 🙂 Are you going to rename your blog? (Its showing up *** for the name?)


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

