28
Apr
06

114628660084179182

Here’s how they get you. So you sign up for the JoAnn’s mailing list. They send you a 40% off coupon for two weeks, a 50% off coupon for only Friday (today) and a 50% off coupon for only Saturday (tomorrow). You figure you may as well buy something for half off, and stop by.

***JoAnn’s has every knitting needle, “jewelry supplies” and Blue Moon Beads on sale 40% off this weekend!***

I left with two size 2 circular needles, size 2 dpns, two size 3 circular needles, some fun red 20 gauge wire and some black and red beads. Oh, and to use my coupon, some Lion Suede.

And I still have to go back tomorrow, because I have another coupon!

Meanwhile, I stopped by my LYS for the third time this week, to officially turn in what I am now calling the “$100 scarf”. Similar to Lu’s $100 (?) hat, the scarf I just finished has a story. Apparently a customer was at a business meeting, saw someone wearing a scarf, asked to buy it from her, paid this person $100 for the scarf off her neck. She then came into the store and asked if it was knit, because she wanted to make one. She wasn’t so happy to hear it wasn’t knit, and the supplies cost about $20.

Hence the $100 scarf that I finished up yesterday and turned in today. And of course I had to do a bit of shopping — I bought one skein of Mountain Colors Bearfoot. Which begs the question — when you count your stash, do you count yarn that is currently on the needles (or even something allotted, like the rest of the 15 skeins, when one is on the needles πŸ˜‰ or just unused yarn? Because I was thinking, if you buy yarn, then immediately cast on for a project, does that count as stash or a work in progress?

You may have guessed I cast on for more socks with my Bearfoot. But only because I had left my Sockapaloooza sock at home and needed to be knitting something! BTW, I just turned the heel for my 2nd sock. I really hope I’ll make it by the deadline. I think I will, but I don’t want to assume anything.

8 Responses to “114628660084179182”


  1. April 28, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    Love the color of that yarn. Very pretty!

  2. April 29, 2006 at 5:32 am

    You did well with your shopping…..

    I’d say WIP, to your question as my WIPS never stay in the same conatiners as my yarn.
    It would be confusing as one project I just started has 3 balls of yarn knitted together.

  3. April 29, 2006 at 6:27 am

    Someone paid $100 for a scarf off someone’s neck? Wow…

  4. 4 Amy
    April 29, 2006 at 8:11 am

    Fun shopping!

    I wouldn’t count WIP yarn as part of your stash, but it’s already earmarked for something.

  5. April 29, 2006 at 8:52 am

    JoAnn’s is dangerous! I go in there and spend forever…huge time sink.

  6. April 29, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Ooh, I went to joann’s too! πŸ™‚ Got dpns, crochet hooks, and a stitch pattern book…

    Mm, bearfoot. I have some but I haven’t knit with it yet– feels so nice on the skein. I don’t count wip’s in the stash count, but just b/c mine is already too out of control to matter anymore πŸ™‚

  7. April 29, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    I just loved the colors in this yarn, and I wanted to buy some to try it out anyway. But so far I still have to work on my Sockapaloooza socks until Tuesday!

  8. April 30, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    As for the “do you count” question…..

    As big a counter of things as I may be, I won’t let myself count yarn. Totals, that is. I have a small notebook where I have some counts of types – x number of this one for a sweater, etc.

    So, I’m not fretting about counting it done or not.

    You’re braver than I am. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

