24
Apr
06

114591374094498670

This weekend was a whirlwind, and it probably won’t stop until those Sockapaloooza socks are mailed next week! (I am stressing out about getting that “here’s the address” email as well …)

I haven’t had much knitting time, so I’m only just into the pattern on the second sock. But I did do a swap so I will not be without this gorgeous Knit Picks Sock Garden in Zinnia once I finish my sock pal’s socks. I find myself obsessed with this red/orange/yellow colorway, and now have the similar Cherry Tree Hill one, and there was one more I want to buy when I get the money.

Speaking of which, during my break from my broker’s test I did end up making a quick stop at the TKGA market. I don’t know if I passed this time (the proctor says she’s seen people there 7 or 8 times!) but I most definitely had at least one of the *exact* same questions! “If you have a piece of lumber 2″ x 12″ which is 24 feet long, how many board feet is it?” Any ideas? My mom has been in real estate for 30 years and wasn’t sure, and my dad is very good in math and he wasn’t either. I believe the answers were either 12, 24, 36 or 48.

I also know what to study next time. This time I studied about grant deeds, which were a big part of my last test, and next time I need to study more about capitalization rates on income properties. Fun.

Anyway, I did get a 2 hour break, so I walked over to the Marriott and checked out the yarn. I stopped by the Interlacements booth, but none of their sock yarns spoke to me, and found some other things, but nothing worth spending my money on. Then I found the Lisa Souza yarn. I had seen her website before but hadn’t been too excited about her red colorways, so I never ordered. Then Quickeye pointed me to a gorgeous new colorway, “Little Devil”. Right up my alley. I wanted to buy all of the yarn in that colorway, but I had a bit of restraint. I really wanted to buy the laceweight, but I have no use for laceweight yarn, so I was good. I only bought some of her new Sock! and some Merino yarn.

Isn’t it gorgeous?!

And on the way home I stopped at my most favorite record store, and got some deals:

I can’t wait until I fail again!

I’m still working hard, and now I’ve got more work! I hadn’t synced up with my LYS recently because of some communication issues (I thought they were going to call me, and when they didn’t I forgot to check in), so I went to visit recently and said I’d come back last week to get some new projects. I was sick then, so I finally made it today. So now along with my ill-fated Sockapaloooza sock, I have these two projects to finish this week:

First, I have moved on from knitting and have become “crafty”. This is going to be a very strangely constructed scarf. I believe it’s a GGH yarn but I didn’t see the label. I’m happy to do scarves for them because they’re instant gratification and I don’t make them for myself. I also have this one:

I’ve never made a corkscrew or “potato chip” scarf before, so I was interested, but I hate those wrap and turn short rows!

Enough updating, back to work!

6 Responses to “114591374094498670”


  1. April 25, 2006 at 9:39 am

    Wow, sounds like a good break from the test! (Relaxing at least). I’m glad you saw Lisa Souza’s booth, she didn’t have as many colorways as I thought she would but I really liked the little devil, too 🙂

    Is that Noro Kureyon #88? I love it, can’t wait to see it worked into a scarf.

  2. April 25, 2006 at 9:43 am

    I liked seeing them in person, since they were much nicer than on the computer in those little boxes!

    Actually, it’s Noro Spring Garden Lite in 2011, green, orange and brown. They like these colors at my LYS for some reason …

  3. April 25, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    The Housemartins!!! I love them.

  4. April 25, 2006 at 2:40 pm

    I think if it’s 24 inches long, then it’s 2 board feet.

    If it’s 24 feet long, then it’s 24 board feet.

  5. April 25, 2006 at 2:42 pm

    oh, wait…2×12, you say? then it should be 48. A 1×12 is 1 board foot…

    I am curious to see the St. Valentine’s colorway of Sock! Bummed I missed the show.

  6. April 26, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    It is so cool to finally find out the answer — and that’s what I said this time! I hope I don’t have to take it again, but if I do, I hope I get this question again!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

